RSS

Special #NFPB Post: More Jeanette Winter

22 Jul

As part of my Reading Challenge this year, I wanted to read Jeanette Winter’s nonfiction picture books. I shared some that I’ve read recently last week here.

The following are reviews of her books I’ve read in the past.

Henri's ScissorsHenri’s Scissors by Jeanette Winter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

An inspiring account of an artist’s life who didn’t let a serious illness get in the way of creating art that would touch millions of people’s hearts. Jeanette Winter provides a glimpse into Henri Matisse, his incredible paper cutouts, and how everything he did was an extension of his passion!

View all my reviews

Nasreen's Secret School: A True Story from AfghanistanNasreen’s Secret School: A True Story from Afghanistan by Jeanette Winter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Based on a true story, this is a great picture book that highlights the importance of education. It’s always mindboggling to see how other countries seem to value education more than we do here. But it’s also been nice to see in real life and online so many dedicated teachers who give their all despite being overworked and underappreciated.

View all my reviews

The Librarian of Basra: A True Story from IraqThe Librarian of Basra: A True Story from Iraq by Jeanette Winter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This picture book is about Alia Muhammad Baker, an Iraqi librarian who saved the books in her country during wartime. This shows how important books are, how far people would go to protect them.

View all my reviews

Biblioburro: A True Story from ColombiaBiblioburro: A True Story from Colombia by Jeanette Winter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is about Luis Soriano, a man who decided to travel around his country of Colombia by donkey in order to provide books to people who need them. Inspiring!

View all my reviews

I’ve just checked out the last batch of her nonfiction picture books so I can’t wait to read them and review them soon!

 

One response to “Special #NFPB Post: More Jeanette Winter

  1. randomlyreading

    July 26, 2015 at 4:44 am

    I’ve been wanting to read these books ever since I first heard about them. I’ll have to make a library run this week and see if I can find any. Thanks for sharing these with us.

     

Leave a Reply

 
