RSS

What Are You Reading? (156) #IMWAYR – July 26, 2015

26 Jul

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Special #NFPB Post: More Jeanette Winter

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating beginnings.

A B See by Elizabeth Doyle

A B See by Elizabeth Doyle


[***] A beautiful alphabet board book with lots of things hidden that kids will enjoy identifying or looking for.


The Snowy Day [***]
Whistle for Willie [***]
A Letter to Amy [***]
Peter’s Chair [***]
Goggles! [***]
Hi, Cat! [***]
Pet Show [***]
All books by Ezra Jack Keats
I wanted to meet my goal for my We Need Diverse Books Reading Challenge. I remember reading The Snowy Day as part of my Caldecott Reading Challenge and I was surprised the character Peter is featured in more books so I decided to check them out. It was fun to watch Peter and his friends grow and have fun and have adventures around their neighborhood. I also appreciated that the neighborhood portrayed a realistic urban scene. The illustrations were fun.

Supercat vs The Fry Thief (Supercat, Book 1)Supercat vs The Fry Thief by Jeanne Willis
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Super Cat- Super silly, super fun and super entertaining read for beginning chapter readers. Kids and adults will enjoy this as much if not more than the Captain Underpants series. At least, I found it less crude.

View all my reviews

The Stars of Summer (All Four Stars, #2)The Stars of Summer by Tara Dairman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A good sequel needs to build from the previous installment and be able to stand on its own merit. The characters we’ve been introduced to needs to have grown from the things they’ve experienced- and any new characters need to be interesting enough without being the center of attention. The situations need to up their ante. The Stars of Summer does all this successful and I really can’t wait to read more of her foodie adventures.

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

Until the End by Christopher Pike

Until the End by Christopher Pike


[****] [Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]
Until the End is an omnibus of the following three books:

The Party (Final Friends, #1)The Party by Christopher Pike
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The first book introduces readers to the characters that they will come to know and love and hate. There will be high school milestones throughout the series since it takes places during one senior year. In this instance, there are football games and student body elections and first dates. And, there will be a party that will end in death for one of them.

Friendships will form and crumble. Love will be found and lost. Lives will be taken and changed for better or for worse. It will leave readers wanting more.

View all my reviews

The Dance (Final Friends, #2)The Dance by Christopher Pike
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Dealing with the consequences of the party, the characters learn to move forward with their lives. High school continues to be full of typical teenage drama including getting ready for the big homecoming dance. This book definitely feels like a filler since enough things happen to make it interesting but not enough to explain anything. That’s saved for the final book.

View all my reviews

The Graduation (Final Friends, #3)The Graduation by Christopher Pike
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The third book in the series takes place all in one fateful day- graduation and the senior class party. And what a doozy of a day it is! Secrets are exposed. Feelings are expressed. The truth is finally revealed.

Reaping from all the seeds planted in the previous two books, this offers a satisfying conclusion to the series. It makes me wonder what they are doing now!

Rereading the series, I was impressed by the maturity and the diversity of Pike’s characters. This seemed like pretty risque things back when I was in fourth, fifth and sixth grade!

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “What Are You Reading? (156) #IMWAYR – July 26, 2015

  1. Kathy Martin

    July 27, 2015 at 5:41 am

    Nice assortment of books. Whistle for Willie is a favorite with my kindergartners. I love sending them back to their teacher whistling (or trying to whistle). Here is my weekly report. Happy reading!

     
  2. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    July 27, 2015 at 6:36 am

    Ha! I totally remember reading those Christopher Pike books in middle school! Way to take me back. 🙂

    A B See looks like a beautiful board book. I will definitely have to check that one out!

     
  3. Kellee

    July 27, 2015 at 8:36 pm

    You have been busy!
    Love all the books you posted about on Wednesday. Great biographies.
    Your Pike readathon makes me think of high school! I loved his books!

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  4. Ricki Ginsberg

    July 27, 2015 at 9:20 pm

    Whew! Sorry for the late comment. It has been a crazy day! I love how you did an Ezra Jack Keats run this week. I also enjoyed that each book received the same rating. Which was your favorite?

     
    • vgpratt

      July 28, 2015 at 7:01 pm

      It’s okay, Ricki– I posted WAY later than you to make you feel better! 😉

       
  5. vgpratt

    July 28, 2015 at 7:01 pm

    You’ve been busy! I really am interested in these books by Jeanette Winter. I headed over to your reviews on GR and was looking at how many she’s written– wow! Some of them look like really good titles. I’m also very interested in the book A, B, See. It is a gorgeous cover, and I think it might have really good potential for use as a mentor text with my older kids. I also want to check out some of the “I am…” biographies. I thought they were only for younger kids, but saw where someone (Linda?) said they were really great for middle grade readers. Thanks for some great ideas and title, Earl! Have a wonderful week!

     

Leave a Reply

 
