RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #81

29 Jul

nfpb2015

This is the final post for my Jeanette Winter nonfiction picture book reading challenge. Read the other posts here and here.

Emily Dickinson's Letters to the WorldEmily Dickinson’s Letters to the World by Jeanette Winter
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

It was impressive to read that one of the most popular poets of all time was unknown during her lifetime- her over 1700 poems being found by her sister after her death. A selection of Emily Dickinson’s poems are shared in this picture book.

View all my reviews

The Secret World Of HildegardThe Secret World Of Hildegard by Jonah Winter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Mother and son have another collaboration in this biography of a fascinating person I’d never heard about. Having visions, and hiding them from the world, caused Hildegard to have headaches and to go in hiding. But once she realized her visions were from God, she shared them. A creative look in the life of a woman when women weren’t treated as more than wives-and-mothers-in-the-making.

View all my reviews

Sebastian: A Book about BachSebastian: A Book about Bach by Jeanette Winter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The Bach were a large musical family whose talents were passed from generation to generation. An overly simplified biography of someone who we may be all familiar with without knowing it!

View all my reviews

 

5 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #81

  1. Linda Baie

    July 29, 2015 at 10:41 am

    I have the Dickinson book, but have not heard of the others at all, Earl. Fascinating that the Winters have taken the idea of writing and illustrating these biographies. I’m glad you’ve studied them, & then shared.

     
  2. trkravtin

    July 29, 2015 at 4:13 pm

    Ooo! Bach is one of my favorite composers. Bach rocks! :->

     
  3. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    July 29, 2015 at 7:27 pm

    I love Emily Dickinson, so I am sure that I would enjoy the PB. Have you read And We Stay? I loved the Dickinson influence in that novel.
    I also love Bach (I played cello :D), so I will have to look for that one.
    Thank you for sharing!

     
  4. tbmulligan

    July 30, 2015 at 5:44 am

    Thanks for telling us about Emily Dickinson’s Letters to the World – It will be great to share this book with readers during a poetry unit of study.

     
  5. Holly Mueller

    July 30, 2015 at 7:34 am

    Oooh – I need to read the Emily Dickinson book! What a great author study!

     

Leave a Reply

 
