RSS

What Are You Reading? (157) #IMWAYR – August 2, 2015/ Reading Resolutions: July Update

03 Aug

This week, I posted:

New Releases– Read my reviews for:

-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday- Read my reviews for:

Top 10 Picture Books I Can’t Wait to Read This Fall & Winter

Review: All the Light We Cannot See
allthelight

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Authors.

The Rox in Sox Children’s Music and Books Festival was this past Saturday. I talked about it in a previous post. It’s always great to be part of anything that promotes literacy.

gbb

Dilly Dally Daisy by Mark Fearing

Dilly Dally Daisy by Mark Fearing


[***] Adorable and hilarious, we have an energetic and imaginative girl who has a problem getting anywhere on time. There’s just so much to do! I love the manic facial expressions.

What Pet Should I Get? by Dr. Seuss

What Pet Should I Get? by Dr. Seuss


[***] A new release by a deceased author is always a cause for excitement and worry. But fortunately this is a nice addition to any Seuss library starting of simple and then getting sillier by the page. What I probably enjoyed more than the story was the background information about Seuss and his pets and what was done to get this story printed.

The Christmas Tree Ship by Jeanette Winter

The Christmas Tree Ship by Jeanette Winter


[**] While based on a true story, I decided not to include this as a nonfiction picture book. During the holidays, a ship travels down to Chicago to deliver Christmas trees. Until one day, the captain and his ship doesn’t. His family (his wife and their daughters) continues his legacy in this heartwarming tale.

Pepper & Poe by Frann Preston-Gannon

Pepper & Poe by Frann Preston-Gannon


[***] A cute story about a new kitten in the family and how the old cat can feel frustrated that there’s someone else stealing the attention- not to mention the food- and how it’s nice, even convenient, to have someone else to share the adventures and trouble with.

Marilyn's Monster by Michelle Knudsen, Illustrated by Matt Phelan

Marilyn’s Monster by Michelle Knudsen, Illustrated by Matt Phelan


[****] Adorable story where every kid has a monster they can call their own. Everyone except Marilyn, who after patience fails to produce one, goes out to find her monster. It’s not the way to get one but she’s determined. Matt Phelan’s illustrations are always a visual familiar treat.

Castle of Books by Bernard Clavel, Illustrated by Yan Nascimbene

Castle of Books by Bernard Clavel, Illustrated by Yan Nascimbene


[***] A sweet father and son story who learn their separate interests can actually help each other out.

The Nest Where I Like to Rest by Dawn Babb Prochovnic, Illustrated by Stephanie Bauer

The Nest Where I Like to Rest by Dawn Babb Prochovnic, Illustrated by Stephanie Bauer


[***]
Dawn Prochovnic has done monthly sign language story times at our store in the past and they’ve always been one of my favorite story times that we offer since they are always so active and musical. This is a great story about some very busy goings-on around a bird’s nest. Includes visual ASL signs for animals.


[***]
In the very busy lives of families, sometimes even the moms and dads need time-outs. It was nice to meet Valarie Pearce and her family in person and not just through the pages of the books.

I Will Chomp You! by Jory John, Illustrated by Bob Shea

I Will Chomp You! by Jory John, Illustrated by Bob Shea


[***]
In the same vein as There’s a Monster at the End of this Book, I Will Chomp You features a more aggressive but still adorable creature willing to chomp at readers who keep turning the pages.

Orange Pear Apple Bear by Emily Gravett

Orange Pear Apple Bear
by Emily Gravett


[***] An elderly lady read me this at work over the weekend. I love a spontaneous storytime! Unexpected perks of being a bookseller! A simple story with few words that (with the aide of the illustrations) somehow manages to capture the reader’s attention and imagination.

The Little Gardener by Emily Hughes

The Little Gardener by Emily Hughes


[****] One of my favorite recent picture books. What a great message of doing the best you can despite the overwhelming odds and being pleasantly surprised that there’s others out there doing their best as well.

Super Amoeba (Squish, #1)Super Amoeba by Jennifer L. Holm
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Being a huge fan of the Babymouse series and the Holm duo, it was inevitable that I read this. A nice start to a series about an amoeba who loves comic books. I enjoy the science references and can’t wait to read the other books!

View all my reviews

The Secret of Chimneys (Superintendent Battle, #1)The Secret of Chimneys by Agatha Christie
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The Secret of Chimneys by Agatha Christie. While she is one of my favorite writers, it was mostly because I liked her Hercule Poirot mysteries so much. This thriller, although not featuring any of her other famous detectives, was still much praised. Fun and full of likable characters, brilliant with twists and turns befitting her classic novels, it did not disappoint. It left me racing through the pages to see what would happen next.

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

With so many Reading Challenges out there, I figured keeping a monthly update on the ones I’m participating in will be a great way to keep track of my progress!

Jeanette Winter– I finally started reading more of her nonfiction picture books. You can read reviews here, here and here.

Barbara Kerley & Edwin Fotheringham– I finished this challenge! You can read my reviews of their books here.

Off the Shelf 2015 Goal: 11 books– 2 more books read this month for a total of 6; Click on my To Be Read 2015 post for review.

Diverse Books Goal: 52 books– I finished this challenge! I like to think that I read a lot and I was surprised that I had to seek out books featuring people of color or people with disabilities, or anything that would be considered diverse. While I’m not going keep track of how many more diverse books I read, I will definitely still read more so I can share them.
-Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel
-Eddie Red, Undercover: Mystery in Mayan Mexicoby Marcia Wells
-The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats-Whistle for Willie by Ezra Jack Keats-A Letter to Amy by Ezra Jack Keats-Peter’s Chair by Ezra Jack Keats-Goggles! by Ezra Jack Keats-Hi, Cat! by Ezra Jack Keats-Pet Show by Ezra Jack Keats

Nonfiction Picture Book 2015 Goal: 104 books– 14 more books read this month for a total of 66. Read reviews here, here, here, here, and here.

To Be Read 2015/ Must Read in 2015– I updated this list again. 3 more books read this month for a total of 40; Click on link to see which ones I’ve read!

My Most Favorite Favorites– I added two more titles to my list.
–State of Giving: Stories of Oregon Nonprofits, Donors, and Volunteers by Greg Chaillé and Kristin Anderson
All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr</a

Reading Snapshots

357 Books Read in 2015
8 Adult Fiction
9 Adult Non-Fiction
11 Graphic Novels
65 Middle Readers
248 Picture Books
16 Young Adult

Readings & Literary Events
-Junior Booksellers Boot Camp
-Susan Hill Long

-Shelby Bach

How are your Reading Resolutions going?

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “What Are You Reading? (157) #IMWAYR – August 2, 2015/ Reading Resolutions: July Update

  1. Fats Suela

    August 3, 2015 at 9:42 am

    You’ve had quite a busy week, Earl! Found so many amazing titles from your list. Dr. Seuss is a must read, for sure. I love cats so it was nice to see Pepper & Poe, and monsters are always a hit. The cover of Castle of Books looks fantastic! Emily Gravett and Emily Hughes are wonderful! =)

     
  2. Michele Knott

    August 3, 2015 at 9:53 am

    I was really nervous when I heard there was a new Dr. Seuss book coming out, but there seems to be a lot of positive reviews coming out. I will get to that one this week.
    So glad you enjoyed Marilyn’s Monster and The Little Gardener. Both were surprises for me. I loved the color palette that was used in Gardener. Those were illustrations I would have poured over as a kid (and now, as an adult!)

     
  3. Sue at Book By Book

    August 3, 2015 at 3:27 pm

    Wow, lots of great books! I have been hearing a lot about the “new” Dr. Seuss.

    And I’ve really been wanting to read All the Light We Cannot See – so many rave reviews! I need to make time for it.

    Sue

    2015 Big Book Summer Challenge

     
  4. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    August 3, 2015 at 7:15 pm

    I’m happy to hear that the new Seuss book is good! With the Lee stuff going on, I was worried!
    Glad you liked Squish! I love the series (and really like the tie-in to science!). Next to Squish, I have not read anything on your post–thank you for sharing them with me.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  5. Ricki Ginsberg

    August 3, 2015 at 8:21 pm

    Kellee stole my comment! I am also glad the new Seuss book is good! I’ve heard mixed reviews and some say it is too close to a draft. I plan to read it, and I am glad it exists. My teacher in high school was Seuss’s college roommate, and he had a lot of silly stories about him.

     
  6. The Styling Librarian

    August 4, 2015 at 12:52 am

    Impressive how many challenges you’ve completed now… Will look forward to reading The Little Gardener! 🙂 Happy reading to you…

     
  7. The Logonauts (@thelogonauts)

    August 4, 2015 at 9:25 am

    Whoa, so many incredible books this week! You’re going to be keeping me busy.

     

Leave a Reply

 
