RSS

Rereading Rilke

06 Aug
Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke

Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke

 

I probably end up reading Letters to a Young Poet once a year. And, as I’ve mentioned before, I get something new out of it every time I do- depending on my mood as the time of the rereading. Currently, I’m in between feeling inspired taking baby steps back to being creative and feeling frustrated that I haven’t progressed in all the years I’ve been wanting to be a writer.

This time around I’ve decided to get my own copy so I can underline certain passages that grabbed me- from “Everything is gestation and then birthing.” to “Perhaps all the dragons in our lives are prncesses who are only waiting to see us act, just once, with beauty and courage.”

And, perhaps it’s living on my own again that his tackling of solitude resonated to me more. Being alone allows you to reflect more on your circumstances, which may be scary for some. But it can be useful and it is absolutely necessary to do so. Maybe I feel blocked with my writing because I’m afraid of going deep within myself, revealing too much or having relive certain emotions again. But that’s something to work on- allowing oneself to feel not just in my writing but with everything else in life.

Enjoy a draft of a poem I wrote after reading the first chapter:

You will know my name
As sure as you know yours
For you will see we are not as different
As the world would like us to believe
We have the same fears, the same dreams
That keeps us up at night
And keeps us toiling in the light of day

You will know my name
As sure as I know yours
For I have watched you grow into your own
You are a universe unto yourself
I have been dazzled and enchanted
By the brilliance of your light
The magnanimity of your life

 

Leave a Reply

 
