RSS

What Are You Reading? (158) #IMWAYR – August 9, 2015

09 Aug
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Reading Resolutions: July Update

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Rereading Rilke– Read my review of:

Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke

Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Wicked.

Zapato Power: Freddy Ramos Takes OffZapato Power: Freddy Ramos Takes Off by Jacqueline Jules
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Freddy Ramos receives a mysterious pair of shoes that gives him the ability to run faster than a speeding bullet- or in this case the train that runs through his neighborhood. I enjoyed that this book features a Latino character and takes place in an urban setting. The illustrations add a graphic novel feel to it but it definitely more for beginning chapter book readers. Kids will want to see what upgrades his shoes get in the next installments!

View all my reviews

I Am Princess XI Am Princess X by Cherie Priest
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I wanted to be more generous with my rating but after talking to a friend about what we liked and didn’t like about the novel, it didn’t seem right to give it more stars than I finally decided.

I enjoyed the hybrid of text and graphic novel. It could have definitely used more of the latter. I liked the occasional references to Seattle- including the castle tower being a stand in for the Space Needle- but sometimes it got to be a bit much. That’s probably a great example of my biggest problem with this book: it was either being too clever for its own good or what could have been great ideas were poorly executed.

I haven’t read any of Cherie Priest’s other books but I’ve heard of her so I assume she’s good but I Am Princess X read like a first draft. And, the biggest offense, was that it felt dumbed down.

View all my reviews
[Young Adult]


Squish #2: Brave New Pond [***]
Squish #3: The Power of the Parasite [***]
Squish #4: Captain Disaster [***]
Squish #5: Game On! [***]
Squish #6: Fear the Amoeba [***]
By Jennifer L. Holm, Illustrated by Matthew Holm
This series is probably better not binge-read. But the books are enjoyable, even the predictability is comforting. I liked how there’s a comic-within-a-comic format, the late-to-the-game-with-the-advice dad, the ying-and-yang of his best friends, and the little bit of science trivia thrown into the mix. The experiments and how-to-draw add-ons at the end of each one are also nice.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Have a great reading week!

 

5 responses to “What Are You Reading? (158) #IMWAYR – August 9, 2015

  1. Cheriee Weichel

    August 9, 2015 at 10:45 pm

    I was excited to see the Walt Whitman title as I’ve just finished reading Deborah Wiles, The Aurora County All-Stars, and Whitman’s poetry collection, Leaves of Grass, plays a significant role. I’ve been planning on getting a copy to read. I’ll have to have a look at this one too. It would certainly be an interesting pairing of fiction and nonfiction. Happy Reading this week.

     
  2. Kathy Martin

    August 10, 2015 at 5:31 am

    Nice assortment of books. I have read the first Squish book but none of the rest. I should add them to my elementary media center graphic novel collection. Come see my reading week here if you get a chance. Happy reading!

     
  3. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    August 10, 2015 at 3:05 pm

    I love the Squish series but I think I like Babymouse better. Even so, I am a huge fan of Jenni and Matt Holm

     
  4. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    August 10, 2015 at 7:01 pm

    I love the Squish series because of its great lessons in science, its advocacy for comics, and its hilarity.
    Thank you for reviewing Primates. It is one of my favorite GN biographies.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  5. Fats Suela

    August 13, 2015 at 12:28 pm

    Squish looks cute, but you’re right. I don’t know if I would binge-read the series. I’m not too intrigued by I Am Princess X but I should still probably check it out and see how I like it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
