RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #83

12 Aug

nfpb2015

Tree of Wonder: The Many Marvelous Lives of a Rainforest TreeTree of Wonder: The Many Marvelous Lives of a Rainforest Tree by Kate Messner
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

How much life does one tree support? Readers will be surprised in this beautifully illustrated nonfiction picture book. Focusing on one almendro tree, we see in ever increasing numbers the different kinds of other life forms this rainforest tree provides food and shelter for.

The format reminds me a bit of Lifetime- at least, the word problems included in the back of the book. It also semi-works as a seek and find book for the smaller quantities.

View all my reviews

Dinosaurs Live On!: and other fun facts (Did You Know?, #3)Dinosaurs Live On!: and other fun facts by Laura Lyn Disiena
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Another fun and colorfully illustrated addition in the Did You Know series. This time we learn about dinosaurs. I didn’t even know this had come out a few months ago. I didn’t find this as much fun as the other titles in the series, which was surprising, but it’s still jam-packed with information.

View all my reviews

When Marian Sang: The True Recital of Marian AndersonWhen Marian Sang: The True Recital of Marian Anderson by Pam Muñoz Ryan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

With such talented names attached to this project, it’s no wonder the finished product is a marvel to behold. Formatted like a programme, Marian Anderson’s life plays out beautifully despite the struggles she had to face during her time. I really appreciate the details Selznick puts into his works.

View all my reviews

 

4 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #83

  1. Holly Mueller

    August 12, 2015 at 2:19 pm

    I just saw Tree of Wonder on Alyson’s post and thought it looked beautiful! Glad to see you liked it.

     
  2. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    August 12, 2015 at 8:54 pm

    I love Pam Munoz Ryan–I’ll have to check out her PB.
    Like Holly said, Tree of Wonder looks beautiful!
    I also think I’m going to have a dino fan on my hands when he’s older, so I love learning about new dino books.

     
  3. Michele Knott

    August 16, 2015 at 11:26 am

    I just wrote my review of Kate’s new book for this coming week 🙂 I think it will be a good addition to lower grade classrooms and libraries. I have the Dinosaurs book, I need to read soon. I like this series too!

     
  4. Fats Suela

    August 16, 2015 at 1:56 pm

    I was thinking why Kate Messner was familiar to me and I realized I’ve seen her book, Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt, in our library once. I’m intrigued by Tree of Wonder! For additional nonfiction reading about dinosaurs, check out Boy, Were We Wrong About Dinosaurs by Kathleen Kudlinski and S.D. Schindler.

     

Leave a Reply

 
