RSS

Celebrate This Week- August 13, 2015

14 Aug
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating movies I’ve enjoyed watching recently.

Big_Hero_6_(film)_poster

Big Hero 6

Usually a Disney film is something to look forward to but for the past decade it seems there’s more trepidation than excitement. Big Hero 6 was so good, I’d watch it again. For what Disney is now- goodbye hand-drawn illustrations and memorable loved soundtracks- this holds its own with the classics.

Hiro, a teenage boy, uses his talent for robotics more for trouble (illegal robot battles) than good until his older brother convinces him to enroll at the college where he can improve his skills. Soon, tragedy strikes and a swarm of microbots Hiro invented is being used by a mysterious villain to destroy the city. Enter Baymax- a lovable marshmallowy looking robot designed to take care of people. It’s up to Hiro, Baymax and a oddball team of science nerds to save the day. Action-packed scenes and emotional moments provide a satisfying movie!

You can see my ranking of the Disney animated films here.

Castle_in_the_Sky_(Movie_Poster)

Castle in the Sky

I haven’t watched any Studio Ghilbi anime films despite lots of people telling me to do so. I started with the first theatrical released and was instantly hooked. Castle in the Sky is an exhilarating, enchanting film that seems fresh and classic all at once. I loved the distinct style in illustrations and how there’s a wildness in the storytelling and choices that I hardly see in “traditional” animation.

Floating castles. Sky pirates. A surprising message about love and technology. So many good things to write about. But the best thing about the film for me are the strong memorable characters, especially the male lead in Pazu.

I’ll definitely be watching more Studio Ghilbi films!

cupcakes

Cupcakes

If you loved Glee but thought it could be gayer, Cupcakes is a fun movie centering around a music competition. It’s a feel good story about friendship. Subtitles needed for this Israeli film.

ig

The Imitation Game

I’d been wanting to watch this movie since last year and it didn’t disappoint. Everyone delivered stellar performances in depicting Alan Turing and company working together to break German intelligence codes during World War II.

Of course, when the movie ends and finds out more about Turing, one can’t feel anger and sadness in how someone who played such a crucial role in the war efforts was treated because he was gay. The fact that there are still people who believe in “curing” homosexuality through “treatments” is maddening and borderline criminal.

pride

Pride

Pride is a great film about acceptance & solidarity based on true events where UK gay and lesbian activists raised funds in early 80’s to show their support of miners. It’s a comedic clash of cultures that is full of laughs and heart. It also opened my eyes that in the different battles there are for groups to be treated fair, it is all the same fight for equality and we should help one another achieve that goal. Fans of Billy Elliot will enjoy this moving and inspiring film.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is the trailer for Brian Selznick’s upcoming novel, The Marvels.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

4 responses to “Celebrate This Week- August 13, 2015

  1. Haddon Musings

    August 15, 2015 at 9:08 am

    Earl,Thanks for the list. Some of them I have watched and really enjoyed. Definitely going to watch Pride my next movie night.

     
  2. sallydonnelly11

    August 15, 2015 at 9:34 am

    I love the book trailer you added at the end and am awaiting this book
    s September arrival!! I still need to go see Inside Out and plan to go tomorrow (on my Summer To Do List) but your celebrations make me want to see more movies. Thanks for sharing!

     
  3. Kendra

    August 16, 2015 at 1:19 pm

    I haven’t seen any of these movies! Thanks for some suggestions to get me started. Right now, I have McFarland, USA on my TV. (I’m a runner, and love that it focuses on Cross Country and the stories behind runners.) 🙂 I hope it lives up to my expectations.

     
  4. Crystal

    August 16, 2015 at 9:46 pm

    I haven’t seen the others, but did get to see Big Hero 6 this summer and really enjoyed it. I cannot wait to get my hands on The Marvels. I love his books and this one looks amazing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
