RSS

Celebrate This Week- August 21, 2015

21 Aug
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating a couple of events at Green Bean Books we recently had.

The first was our Family Book Club. Our pick this month was Jackaby and we were fortunate enough to have its author William Ritter join us for the discussion. I’m glad there were new faces to hear about my current YA series. The conversations ranged from strong female protagonists in children’s literature, original character ideas and their developments, The Imitation Game, and working on bad drafts. It was just so interesting to hear William talk about his work and his influences whether directly or indirectly. And as usual we wound up with great book recommendations from one another!

Jackaby (Jackaby, #1)Jackaby by William Ritter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

There will be a new YA book coming out in September that I think will be a big hit-
Jackaby
by William Ritter. Fans of Sherlock Holmes (especially the Benedict Cumberbatch portrayal) will enjoy this first in a series debut that mixes mystery with more than a splash of the supernatural. A runaway suddenly finds herself far away from home and working for an eccentric detective. Ghosts, banshees, and blood-thirsty monsters are just some of the things that they must deal with. Likable (and familiar feeling) characters, clever dialogue, and plenty of action make this a must-read for fall!

View all my reviews

The Map (Jackaby, #1.5)The Map by William Ritter
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Even though it’s Abigail Rook’s birthday, readers are the ones who get a gift with this novella featuring our intrepid adventure, her boss- the supernaturally gifted Jackaby, a treasure map, goblins, and vegetables. A smart move for fans of this smart, spooky series until the next installment comes out!

View all my reviews

Beastly Bones (Jackaby, #2)Beastly Bones by William Ritter
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Quick Twitter Review: Finished Beastly Bones by @Willothewords! Jackaby is my current fave #yalit series. Smart supernatural fun. Read it!

And so the problem is BB doesn’t come out til Sept so I have to wait even longer for the next book! Such is a reader’s life!

New characters and dinosaur bones are thrown into this mix in the sequel to Jackaby. Not to mention: shape-shifting cats running loose in the city and a mysterious monster killing inhabitants in a small village.

But something even more sinister is brewing closer to our main characters than they could imagine…

Relationships are deepened. The dialogue remains sharp. The stakes are higher.

View all my reviews

The second event we held was Educator Night where we recommended some new titles for K-8 school teachers and librarians. We’re always thrilled to help them discover books which they can use in their lessons or that will get kids to enjoy reading.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is the first episode of Colby Sharp’s and Travis Jonker’s new podcast The Yarn.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

6 responses to “Celebrate This Week- August 21, 2015

  1. Haddon Musings

    August 22, 2015 at 9:53 am

    Hi Earl, Thanks for the recommendations. I had a young girl ask me for a YA recommendation and couldn’t think of anything. Now I will have something to offer her next week.

     
  2. Sarah

    August 22, 2015 at 11:08 am

    I love celebrating books and book clubs! My first book club really helped me adjust to living in a new place and I hold those members very close to heart. Thanks for the book ideas to add to my TBR pile.

     
  3. Terje

    August 22, 2015 at 11:22 am

    Thank you for the reviews. I’ll pass the titles to my daughters. They are constantky looking for new titles.

     
  4. Ramona

    August 22, 2015 at 7:00 pm

    Haven’t checked out the podcast yet, but putting it on my list. Educator Night is a great way to share books. I enjoyed checking out your other book reviews. I just picked dup
    Book Scavenger this week.

     
  5. Kendra

    August 23, 2015 at 6:50 am

    The Yarn is my first ever podcast to follow. I just need to figure out when to listen. 🙂
    Keeping your reviews on file for a jr. high teacher I know. Thanks for sharing them.

     
  6. Myra GB

    August 24, 2015 at 8:55 pm

    How lovely to have the author join you! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
