RSS

What Are You Reading? (160) #IMWAYR – August 23, 2015

23 Aug

This week, I posted:

New Releases– Read my review for:

The Day The Crayons Came Home by Drew Daywalt, Illustrated by Oliver Jeffers

The Day The Crayons Came Home by Drew Daywalt, Illustrated by Oliver Jeffers

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my review for:

Swan: The Life and Dance of Anna Pavlova by Laurel Snyder, Illustrated by Julie Morstad

Swan: The Life and Dance of Anna Pavlova by Laurel Snyder, Illustrated by Julie Morstad

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Jackaby and Educator Night. Read my reviews for:

Boats for Papa by Jessixa Bagley

Boats for Papa by Jessixa Bagley


[***] A surprisingly tender story about loss and how a mother and son cope with it. Apparently the ending can be interpreted in many ways but I was a tad confused by it.

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Alison Jay

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Alison Jay


[***] Similar to the Cozy Classics board book series, this is a one-word per spread that if you’re familiar with the story already has the story arc. Alison Jay’s illustrations are great.

Seven Orange Pumpkins by Stephen Savage

Seven Orange Pumpkins by Stephen Savage


[**] This board book is a condensed version of Ten Orange Pumpkins. Stephen Savage’s distinct illustrative style plus his fun cast of spooky characters plus an educational element mixed in with the story equal a great read aloud for young readers.

Appleblossom the PossumAppleblossom the Possum by Holly Goldberg Sloan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I don’t normally like animal stories but who can resist a family of theatrical possums? Learning the tricks of the trade for fun and for survival, a trio of them must use everything they know when they’re suddenly faced with all kinds of adventures and challenges.

As much as I enjoyed the story more than I thought I would, there is no way to convince me these critters can be cute!

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

Bound to You by Christopher Pike

Bound to You by Christopher Pike


[***] [Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]
Bound to You is an omnibus of the following two books:
SpellboundSpellbound by Christopher Pike
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Cindy is your typical teenager with not your typical teenage problem: either her boyfriend killed his last girlfriend or there’s some sort of monster killing people off.

Spellbound is probably the type of novel Christopher Pike is known for: supernatural horror. But it also includes a sprinkling of spirituality that sets him apart.

Fun, quick read.

View all my reviews

See You LaterSee You Later by Christopher Pike
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The plot of See You Later screams genre YA from the get go. It’s a love story with a sci-fi twist involving time travel. It is perhaps one of Christopher Pike’s most autobiographical works. Some of his Facebook posts sounds exactly what Mark believes. It is also very referential- the video game The Starlight Crystal will make a couple more appearances as a short story in Remember Me 3 and as its own novel.

And, as another reviewer noted, there are clear echoes here of what Witch World will be in terms of the main characters’ beliefs.

View all my reviews

Expect posts for
-New Releases on Tuesday- there are some fun ones coming out!
-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge on Wednesday
-A post about my 53rd favorite book of all time either Monday or Tuesday
-Celebrate This Week on Friday

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

9 responses to “What Are You Reading? (160) #IMWAYR – August 23, 2015

  1. Cheriee Weichel

    August 23, 2015 at 9:54 pm

    All of these books are new to me except The Day The Crayons Came Home. I love Jeffers and will have to order this one. I should probably add Swan to my shopping cart as well!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    August 24, 2015 at 11:04 am

    The Day The Crayons Come Home and Swan are both must reads for me, but I may need to purchase them. There are many holds at the library! I’ll look for the Alice book-does look fun. Thanks, Earl.

     
  3. Holly Mueller

    August 24, 2015 at 12:20 pm

    I saw Jackaby on a list of must-read YA novels. I need to read it! I thought Boats for Papa was just so beautiful. I just ordered Swan because I’ve heard so many positive things about it!

     
  4. Ricki Ginsberg

    August 24, 2015 at 4:11 pm

    I am going to be reading The Day the Crayons came home in the next few weeks. Maybe I will splurge and buy it. 😉

     
  5. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    August 24, 2015 at 4:37 pm

    I cannot wait to read Swan. It has received a lot of praise in Nerdy Book Club circles. 🙂

     
  6. Kellee @ Unleashing Readers

    August 24, 2015 at 6:32 pm

    Yay Christopher Pike!! I loved his books when I was in high school!
    I cannot wait to read the newest Crayons. I adored the first one.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  7. The Styling Librarian

    August 24, 2015 at 10:15 pm

    Can’t wait to read Swan! 🙂 Laughed through The Day The Crayons Come Home… 🙂

     
  8. Gigi McAllister

    August 25, 2015 at 3:28 am

    I just requested Swan and Crayons Came Home from my library. Can’t wait to get them!

     
  9. Myra GB

    August 27, 2015 at 1:46 am

    Love the look of the Alice book – and the Jackaby series – I will have to check those out. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
