RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #85

26 Aug

nfpb2015

Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer: The Spirit of the Civil Rights MovementVoice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer: The Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement by Carole Boston Weatherford
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Told in verse a la Brown Girl Dreaming, this nonfiction picture book tells the story of a woman who fought against insurmountable odds to give African Americans the voice that wasn’t given to them. A timeline is included of key moments during her lifetime.

View all my reviews

 

6 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #85

  1. Linda Baie

    August 26, 2015 at 10:38 am

    I haven’t heard of this one, Earl, so thanks for sharing about it.

     
    • trkravtin

      August 26, 2015 at 12:58 pm

      Linda, check out my blog post from last week. I feature Voice of Freedom with additional interior spreads and reviews. It is EXCELLENT.

       
  2. trkravtin

    August 26, 2015 at 12:59 pm

    Earl, I’m so glad you read this one and liked it. :->

     
  3. Michele

    August 26, 2015 at 6:15 pm

    I have this book on hold at the library! I’ve heard bits about her, but am interested in reading more!

     
  4. alybee930

    August 26, 2015 at 8:11 pm

    I have this on my list of books to read. Need to get my hands on this one. Thanks for highlighting it.

     
  5. Myra GB

    August 27, 2015 at 2:14 am

    Wow! Another book to add to my multicultural PBB text-set. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
