RSS

Celebrate This Week- August 28, 2015

28 Aug
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating little moments the past few days.

Lemonade Stand Book Collection


A girl scout was holding a book drive in which she and her troop gave out lemonade to every one who donated books to The Children’s Book Bank. I couldn’t resist this cute idea so I bought a couple of books at the Friends of the Library store to donate.

Summer Work Party
jenga
We had a work BBQ this past weekend. There were some delicious food and drinks. We even played giant Jenga and, despite one precarious moment, I managed to not make it fall!

Volunteer Party
hop
I was invited to attend a volunteer leaders appreciation happy hour. It was fun to talk to other people who want to make a difference in their community. I couldn’t stop recommending State of Giving, an important book about volunteerism in the state of Oregon. I really wish each state could have one and made a required reading in high schools and colleges.

Mariah Carey
aiw
I was excited to read that there will be a picture book version of Mariah Carey’s yuletide classic “All I Want for Christmas is You.” She did co-write the song (and she did co-produce the song) so I think she should get more credit than she’s getting.

American Red Cross

View while donating blood

View while donating blood


I donated blood and I don’t know why I feel compelled to brag that it only took me 4 minutes and 33 seconds to do so. That’s probably one of my top two fastest- if not the top one- bleeds!

Skywriting

Also, over the weekend, someone was skywriting over Portland and leaving randomly words. It was only afterwards that it was revealed it was for an ice cream shop celebrating its anniversary with a very attention grabbing stunt. The whole thing ended with a happy face!
sky

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is this behind the scenes look at the book trailer Brian Selznick made for his upcoming book, The Marvels.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

8 responses to “Celebrate This Week- August 28, 2015

  1. Rachel Ann

    August 28, 2015 at 10:55 am

    I am SOOOOO excited about Brian Selznick’s new book. You made my day Earl! Thank you!!! 🙂

     
  2. CBethM

    August 29, 2015 at 4:31 am

    You’re not the only one to get excited about how fast you can donate. 🙂 I usually gauge it by whether I have time to spare left in my prep period when I donate at school.

    I don’t know that I’ve ever actually seen skywriting in the sky above me, but I definitely would have been watching the whole thing. 🙂

    The Marvels trailer looks great – and I cannot wait to read the book!

     
  3. Maria

    August 29, 2015 at 5:08 am

    Earl thank you for the reminder to celebrate the smaller things. I appreciate you shared that you gave blood that’s an excellent reminder for the rest of us to give back to our community. Have a great weekend.

     
  4. Julie Johnson

    August 29, 2015 at 6:39 am

    The image of the smiley face in the sky made me smile. You are so right. There are so many small things in life worth celebrating! Doing things for others is probably one of the most important things we can do!

     
  5. Linda Baie

    August 29, 2015 at 7:26 am

    Each part of your sharing made me smile, Earl, & ending with a smiley face is perfect. I didn’t know there was ‘giant jenga’, looks like such fun!

     
  6. Juliann

    August 29, 2015 at 8:20 am

    Lovely celebrations!

     
  7. Haddon Musings

    August 29, 2015 at 9:27 am

    Well even if it was a stunt, I’ll bet it made people smile.

     
  8. Anne @HeadFullofBooks

    August 29, 2015 at 9:41 am

    What a huge Jenga board. How fun is that? What a lovely week full of celebrations.

     

Leave a Reply

 
