RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #86

02 Sep

nfpb2015

Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina and New OrleansDrowned City: Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans by Don Brown
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A devastating read. The resilience of those who lived through Katrina- victims & heroes- is incredible & inspiring. Don Brown definitely presents facts in an engaging way and I will definitely check out his other graphic novel- The Great American Dust Bowl.

View all my reviews

Edward Hopper Paints His WorldEdward Hopper Paints His World by Robert Burleigh
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A great biography of Edward Hopper who as a boy knew he would be an artist. Despite it not being the “in” thing, he was determined to paint what he saw, often capturing everyday scenes in his own way. I loved the play on some of his famous paintings. And the back matter is full of fascinating things to consider.

View all my reviews

 

4 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #86

  1. Linda Baie

    September 2, 2015 at 9:50 am

    I own the Hopper book, a favorite. His paintings are wonderful to me, seem to tell stories one can enjoy imagining. I’m starting Drowned City today, know it won’t be an easy book to read. Thanks, Earl.

     
  2. Jane WhittinghamJane

    September 2, 2015 at 11:05 am

    I still can’t believe Katrina was 10 years ago, it seems like it was just yesterday. So much of what I know about this event came from news reports, so it would be fascinating (and heartbreaking) to get more of a feel of what it was like to live through such a terrible time. “Drowned City” sounds like something I should add to the “to read” list.

     
  3. Michele

    September 2, 2015 at 7:00 pm

    I have not read the Hopper book!
    I did read Drowned City last week. I think Brown does a great job describing tough situations.

     
  4. carriegelson

    September 2, 2015 at 7:26 pm

    So many books about Katrina – I guess with the anniversary this year. I just get so sad thinking about all of it. Both of Brown’s titles are American and I haven’t looked into reading them – not that they haven’t been on my radar.

     

Leave a Reply

 
