RSS

Celebrate This Week- September 4, 2015

04 Sep
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating the Multnomah County Library. I could go endlessly on about how I love libraries and what they do for their communities- and I probably already have- but I was especially thrilled with my library recently.

First, they started carrying one of my favorite books, State of Giving. They may have already had it on order but the fact they even have a “suggest a purchase” option is great. And then to see it on the shelf is exciting, like I was heard.

I was at a bookstore looking for a particular magazine and they didn’t have it. I was bummed and decided to try my luck and see if the library carried it. While they didn’t have physical copies to peruse, they had digital copies I can download and read later on.

Multnomah County Library always has the answers I need even before I know what the questions are.

Also, September is Library Card Sign-Up month so spread the word!

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is one of Elizabeth Gilbert’s TED Talks, Success, Failure and the Drive to Keep Creating.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

4 responses to “Celebrate This Week- September 4, 2015

  1. Haddon Musings

    September 5, 2015 at 12:40 pm

    Earl, the title of your favorite book has me intrigued, State of Giving. I think I will saunter down to my library and see if they have a copy.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    September 5, 2015 at 1:55 pm

    I don’t know this book either, Earl. Glad to have the title, intriguing. I know it’s library card sign-up month. I feel so rich with the library so close & it rarely says ‘no’ when I search for a book. Thanks for the Gilbert Ted Talk too. Will watch later.

     
  3. Ramona

    September 5, 2015 at 5:33 pm

    I knew this post had to be from you, Earl, when I saw the words Multnomah County Library under your link. I’m grateful to be a part of the King County Library System, another great library in the NW. And now that I’m retired, I get to help even more with the library book sales at my local library.

     
  4. Crystal

    September 5, 2015 at 9:00 pm

    I too am a huge public library fan. I love that we can make purchase suggestions and that libraries are so patron oriented. I know my local library does everything possible to make sure we can get the materials we want and need.

     

Leave a Reply

 
