RSS

What Are You Reading? (162) #IMWAYR – September 6, 2015

06 Sep

This week, I posted:

Reading Resolutions: August Update

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating the library since it’s Library Card Sign-Up Month!
I also updated my To Be Read 2015 list.

We Forgot Brock! by Carter Goodrich

We Forgot Brock! by Carter Goodrich


[***] Another one of those enjoyable imaginary friend stories. There seems to be a trend this year of it- or maybe it’s just a staple.

Llama Llama Gram and Grandpa by Anna Dewdney

Llama Llama Gram and Grandpa by Anna Dewdney


[***] Llama Llama stays overnight with his grandparents and a problem arises when he forgets his stuffed toy. Aside from the stereotypical activities the adults play, this is a good relatable story.


[***] I can’t believe I hadn’t read The Napping House before! Not only is it a fun read with it’s cumulative text structure but the illustrations are full of fun things to notice. I’m excited the both Audrey and Don Wood are coming to our store on Labor Day to read the sequel. The Full Moon at the Napping House finds the characters unable to sleep until a surprise guest visits them.

That's (Not) Mine by Anna Kang, Illustrated by Christopher Weyant

That’s (Not) Mine by Anna Kang, Illustrated by Christopher Weyant


[**] I wasn’t crazy about the first book so at least my feeling for this one is consistent. Definitely good for families with multiple children and classrooms or daycares.

More Tales of the City (Tales of the City, #2)More Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Chock-full of surprises and scandalous secrets, this kept me up all night! Seriously, “just one more chapter” is impossible once you know the characters. And, probably even if you didn’t, the sometimes outlandish situations they get themselves into will keep you turning pages!

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

9 responses to “What Are You Reading? (162) #IMWAYR – September 6, 2015

  1. Linda Baie

    September 7, 2015 at 6:44 am

    Great that you will meet the authors of the Napping house books, Earl. I’m always glad to hear your ideas about different books. I still need to find those Maupin books! Have a great week!

     
  2. Tammy and Clare

    September 7, 2015 at 2:46 pm

    We are big fans of The Napping House and can’t wait to read The Full Moon at the Napping House. Love your description of More Tales of the City – Sounds wonderful!

     
  3. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    September 7, 2015 at 5:43 pm

    We Forgot Brock looks fab. I definitely need to read that book ASAP! I just requested it at my library. Hopefully it comes in soon!

     
  4. The Logonauts (@thelogonauts)

    September 7, 2015 at 6:56 pm

    Always appreciate your honest reviews! I may need to checkout The Napping House now.

     
  5. Kellee @ Unleashing Readers

    September 7, 2015 at 6:58 pm

    Yay The Napping House! It is such a fun book! I love the Woods.
    And we are big Llama Llama fans here (though I am not a huge fan of the original; however, the shortened board books are so much fun!).
    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    September 7, 2015 at 7:02 pm

    Hooray! A new llama book! Interesting you should comment about That’s (Not) Mine. My son takes everything from my husband and me and demands it is his. He isn’t in day care, yet he still picked up that dang word. I do think it is a book for young kids. It was interesting to see your review, though. I suppose, that is what happens in books–it is often a matter of taste, right?

     
  7. The Styling Librarian

    September 7, 2015 at 11:02 pm

    Full moon at the napping house… super excited about this one… Happy reading your way…

     
  8. Jane Whittingham

    September 8, 2015 at 11:00 am

    The “Llama llama” books are perennial story time favourites, but I think the rhymes work a bit better when you say it “laa-ma” instead of “lah-ma”, the way I typically do (I’m a librarian, not a linguist, so hopefully my description makes sense!) – I sometimes have to pull out my special story time accent with picture books to make the rhymes fit 😉

     
  9. Myra GB

    September 8, 2015 at 8:11 pm

    One of my soul-sister friends who live in San Francisco loaned me the entire set of the Armistead Maupin series – it stayed with me for something like two years but I never got a chance to really read all of them and I had to return the books to her last November the last time I visited her. I feel envious that you get to read them. 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
