RSS

Celebrate This Week- September 11, 2015

11 Sep
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating literary events and volunteerism.

On Labor Day, we had two classic kidlit creators do a reading at the store! What a treat and pleasure to meet Don and Audrey Wood! I love it when authors and illustrators are friendly and approachable. If you haven’t read any of their books, start with The Napping House!

wood

I volunteered twice this week with one of my favorite non-profits- The Children’s Book Bank. On Tuesday was a regular session cleaning and sprucing up donated books to make them like new to the kids receiving them. On Thursday, I helped them table at a cool annual event here in Portland- a Volunteer Expo, a great way for people to get to know the different opportunities for them to donate their time, money, or skills! I love getting to talk about books, volunteering and my job to others.

ve1

ve2

ve3

I even met one of the authors of one of my 53 favorite books there- Kristin Anderson who co-wrote State of Giving: Oregon Volunteers, Donors, and Nonprofits!

Thursday evening, I saw Ursula K. Le Guin speak about her new book Steering the Craft. She was frank and feisty and gave refreshing answers.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is her speech when she accepted the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

6 responses to “Celebrate This Week- September 11, 2015

  1. Haddon Musings

    September 12, 2015 at 5:24 am

    Earl, Your book bank must so appreciate your help.

     
  2. Anne

    September 12, 2015 at 8:03 am

    What a wonderful week. I celebrate Kid-Lit events with you!

     
  3. Jana Eschner (@JanaTheTeacher)

    September 12, 2015 at 9:34 am

    Looks like you had a terrific week. Your book bank is awesome and it looks like you were blessed with perfect weather for it! Thanks for sharing it!

     
  4. Linda Baie

    September 13, 2015 at 8:15 am

    Oh my, Earl, how wonderful to meet the authors. I love Le Guin’s books, wonderful sci-fi. You make me want to move to Portland! I want to volunteer at the Children’s Book Bank! I looked & there doesn’t seem to be anything like it in Denver. You are such a wonderful volunteer!

     
  5. crbrunelle

    September 13, 2015 at 10:08 am

    How fun to have so many author experiences this week. I love The Napping House! That video of LeGuin at the NBA is one of my favorites.

     
  6. cvarsalona

    September 13, 2015 at 4:55 pm

    Earl, it is so good that you are always volunteering your services. How special. Thank you for sharing the video of Ursula K. LeGuin’s speech whose speech rang true about needing writers who can remember freedom and the practice of art.

     

Leave a Reply

 
