RSS

What Are You Reading? (163) #IMWAYR – September 13, 2015

13 Sep

We had a talented group of people randomly stop by the store the other day. I was seriously fan-Earling! Click here to find out who they were!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating literacy events and volunteerism.

Brave As Can Be: A Book of Courage by Jo Witek, Illustrated by Christine Roussey

Brave As Can Be: A Book of Courage by Jo Witek, Illustrated by Christine Roussey


[***] This is a good and fun book that will help kids face their fears. Die-cuts playfully transform scary things into nicer ones.

The Wonder by Faye Hanson

The Wonder by Faye Hanson


[***] An imaginative boy channels all the things in his head during art class in wonderfully illustrated scenes.
Space DumplinsSpace Dumplins by Craig Thompson
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I didn’t particularly enjoy this graphic novel. I think I wasn’t in the mood and I was annoyed by how long it was. But I can see the appeal of this. It’s an outer space adventure with an environmental message featuring a spunky girl and her quirky friends who’s out to save her dad and the entire universe from whale diarrhea.

View all my reviews

I keep forgetting to post reviews of books that I read months ago that have just been recently released. Here are some of them:

Waiting by Kevin Henkes

Waiting by Kevin Henkes


[**] A set of toys placed by the window are all waiting for something. Another picture book with a theme of waiting and patience.

Thankful by Eileen Spinelli, Illustrated by Archie Preston

Thankful by Eileen Spinelli, Illustrated by Archie Preston


[***] A beautiful read-aloud of all the things to be thankful for accompanied by lively illustrations.

GeorgeGeorge by Alex Gino
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Quick Twitter review for now:

George by @lxgino feels like an important book but manages to be accessible at the same time. Reminds me to see the world as I want it to be

View all my reviews

Fuzzy MudFuzzy Mud by Louis Sachar
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Quick Twitter review:

Fuzzy Mud by Louis Sachar will catch his long-time readers off guard with its interest pacing and eco-thriller plot.

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

The Tale of DespereauxThe Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Despereaux is a charming tale of a mouse on a quest to save a human princess from a rat. It is a tale of love, revenge, life, and death. It is a tale of the power of stories and the hope of happily ever after, DiCamillo weaves together unforgettable characters and unlikely situations in a quiet magical way that resonates with readers long after the story ends.

View all my reviews

The Tiger RisingThe Tiger Rising by Kate DiCamillo
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I kind of feel bad for not liking this book more. When a book is heavy with symbolism and inner turmoil like this one, it seems if you don’t like it, then you don’t “get it.” The characters acted younger than they were supposed to be. And it did just seem like a woe-is-me party.

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? (163) #IMWAYR – September 13, 2015

  1. Cheriee Weichel

    September 13, 2015 at 8:50 pm

    George is in one of the boxes of new books that just arrived in the library. I’ve heard good things about it and hope it is better than Gracefully Grayson. I’ve just put Thankful on order. While I generally love DiCamillo’s work, The Tiger Rising didn’t really work for me either. Happy Reading this week!

     
  2. msyingling

    September 14, 2015 at 2:19 am

    I think I weeded Tiger Rising some time ago– no one ever checked it out, and I wasn’t keen on it, either. I’m still conflicted about Fuzzy Mud. I liked the message, but it seemed to plod a bit for me.

     
  3. Elisabeth Ellington

    September 14, 2015 at 7:12 am

    I’ve been wanting to go back and reread some of the Kate DiCamillo titles I read (and didn’t like very much) long before I started reading children’s lit as the main part of my reading diet. Both of the books you review this week would be on that list of titles needing to be revisited. For me, her books always work really well when I read them aloud–and not as well when I don’t. I need to order George–think it’s an important one to share with my students.

     
  4. Tammy and Clare

    September 14, 2015 at 7:51 am

    Waiting and Thankful look like two amazing books – Thank you so much.

     
  5. Kellee @ Unleashing Readers

    September 14, 2015 at 6:42 pm

    Great reading this week! DiCamillo is just so brilliant.
    I need to read George. I have it waiting for me, but it keeps getting pushed back because of need-to-reads.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    September 14, 2015 at 9:40 pm

    Oh my goodness. The cover of The Wonder just drew me in! I keep saying I will read George. I saw it in the bookstore, but I am trying to save money. I guess a trip to the library is in order…

     
  7. The Styling Librarian

    September 14, 2015 at 10:26 pm

    I had to read The Tiger Rising a few times to appreciate it. Happy reading week to you!

     
  8. Myra GB

    September 16, 2015 at 12:04 am

    Apart from Flora & Ulysses, I haven’t read any other Kate DiCamilo novels – so like you, I am also late for the party. George sounds like a book I MUST find and read. 🙂 I should have included this in my list of books to be purchased for my research project. I shall pin now so that I will remember. The book cover of The Wonder is gorgeous.

     

Leave a Reply

 
