RSS

What Are You Reading? (165) #IMWAYR – September 27, 2015

27 Sep

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating various little things that made me happy.

It's Tough to Lose Your Balloon by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

It’s Tough to Lose Your Balloon by Jarrett J. Krosoczka


[***]

Zen Socks by Jon J. Muth

Zen Socks by Jon J. Muth


[***] Stillwater the Panda returns for another round of lessons- this time about patience, sharing and kindness despite overwhelming odds.

Where's the Baboon? by Michaël Escoffier, Illustrated by Kris Di Giacomo

Where’s the Baboon? by Michaël Escoffier, Illustrated by Kris Di Giacomo


[***] A playful easy word game for beginning readers. A silly question is asked and answers can be found in the playful illustrations or spelling out the different-colored text in a word.

Book by David W. Miles, Illustrated by Natalie Hoopes

Book by David W. Miles, Illustrated by Natalie Hoopes


[***] A beautiful imaginative take on the magic of books.

Mae and the Moon by Jami Gigot

Mae and the Moon by Jami Gigot


[***] A girl befriends the moon and worries when one night her nocturnal pal doesn’t show up. Playful illustrations and I love the depiction of the phases of the moon at the back endpaper.

Louis I, King of the Sheep by Olivier Tallec

Louis I, King of the Sheep
by Olivier Tallec


[***] A sheep finds a crown and proclaims himself king of his kind. But the power gets into his head and starts handing out unfair decrees. A sudden wind of change will deliver an unexpected ending if not necessarily a satisfying one.

Who Done It? by Olivier Tallec

Who Done It? by Olivier Tallec


[***] Cute illustrations help young observant readers find the culprit(s) in each of the question asked.

Fable ComicsFable Comics by Chris Duffy
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This series is a great introduction to the talented graphic novelists featured in the books. However, I didn’t think fables worked well in this medium. Check out Fairy Tale Comics.

View all my reviews

Little RobotLittle Robot by Ben Hatke
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A little mechanic girl finds a lost robot. This new instant friendship is threatened not only by a big robot intent on bringing back the little robot where it came from but also by the girl’s jealousy when the little robots searches more of its kind.

Reminiscent of Disney’s Lilo and Stitch and Pixar’s Wall-E, this almost wordless graphic novel will appeal to young readers.

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

The Mystery of the Blue Train by Agatha Christie

The Mystery of the Blue Train by Agatha Christie


[***]
[Agatha Christie Reading Challenge][Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]

WatchmenWatchmen by Alan Moore
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is one of those books everybody seems to have read. I was approached twice by random strangers wanting to talk about it.

While I didn’t really get into it until halfway through and I found the ending rather anti-climactic, I really appreciated the originality and the scope and the experimentativness of it.

There’s usually a story-within-the-story in each issue plus some added documents to supplement the graphic novel story. The presentation was very stylistic as well.

I’m glad I read this even though it wasn’t my cup of tea.

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “What Are You Reading? (165) #IMWAYR – September 27, 2015

  1. Michele

    September 28, 2015 at 3:17 am

    I really enjoyed It’s Tough to be a Balloon. I have Zen Socks, and Who Done It coming my way soon! I just picked up the Baboon one from a local indie. I think my students who struggle with reading will find this one fun and interactive.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    September 28, 2015 at 7:39 am

    Love that there is a new Zen book. They are good. And thanks for Mae and The Moon, very timely considering the eclipse last night. Have you heard of the book “A Is For Arsenic: The Poisons of Agatha Christie”? I heard a review of it last week-sounds good! Have a great week, Earl.

     
  3. Holly Mueller

    September 28, 2015 at 4:48 pm

    So many on your list look good! I just loved A Tower of Giraffes!

     
  4. Cheriee Weichel

    September 28, 2015 at 5:12 pm

    I’m not sure where I’ve been, but all of these picture books are new to me. I couldn’t decide where to start reading if I had to. Ok, I might begin with the new Zen book because I enjoyed his earlier works.

     
  5. Crystal

    September 28, 2015 at 7:42 pm

    So excited to see the new Zen book! I love those. The watercolors are fantastic and I also appreciate the wisdom shared.

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    September 28, 2015 at 8:36 pm

    Little Houses looks really good! I liked your review. Paper creations from all over the world? This sounds right up my alley. Thanks for sharing!

     
  7. Myra GB

    October 1, 2015 at 12:47 am

    Hi Earl! I abandoned Watchmen but I am resolved to get back to it at one point. It just didn’t resonate with me then. I loved seeing the new Zen book – I like how subtle Jon Muth can be. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
