RSS

Celebrate This Week- October 2, 2015

02 Oct
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating mostly bookish moments.

On Tuesday, I was at a coffee shop killing time before volunteering when a middle-aged man approached me and shook my hand. “Are you Earl?” he asked. And when I answered I was but couldn’t place who he was, he explained he was the dad of the boy who comes regularly to buy books with his Mom. He said his son loved the store. He was super appreciative and I even heard him rave about the store to the barista!

It was also a great time at the Children’s Book Bank. Great conversations about all kinds of topics with the other volunteers. I may end up seeing some of them at other places as well.

cbb1

On Thursday, we had a super fun event with Mac Barnett and Christian Robinson for their picture book Leo: A Ghost Story. They were great and everyone seemed to have a blast! I also enjoyed seeing so many book world people come to the store, booksellers from Washington coming for a bookselling trade show, local authors and illustrators, and people I’ve only met through social media.

Later that night, a friend took me to see Falsettos– a musical about family (in whatever configuration they may come in) and how they fall apart and come together. I love living in a city where I can be that guy who enjoys theater and have such plentiful opportunities to watch them!

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is this interview my friend did talking about decluttering. She’s a life coach and you can view her website here.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

4 responses to “Celebrate This Week- October 2, 2015

  1. Ms. Yingling Reads (@MsYingling)

    October 2, 2015 at 3:38 pm

    It’s always good to get positive feedback, isn’t it? I was thinking that working in a book store or public library wouldn’t be quite as nice as a school, since I see the same 750 kids all the time, but it looks like you ARE making personal connections. Great job!

     
  2. Amy

    October 3, 2015 at 4:30 am

    Sounds like you had a great week! I sure wish we had a book store like yours to visit in our town. Nothing warms my heart more than browsing through book store and taking in all it has to offer.

     
  3. Linda Baie

    October 3, 2015 at 7:46 am

    How great that people take the time to say thank you, like that dad in the coffee shop, Earl. It would be lovely for more to do it, means a lot. And terrific that you had a time with Mac Barnett. I’m looking forward to reading that book. Happy weekend!

     
  4. crbrunelle

    October 3, 2015 at 2:17 pm

    So wonderful to get positive feedback like that. I still haven’t read Leo, but will be getting my hands on it soon. So cool that you had the author & illustrator. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
