RSS

What Are You Reading? (166) #IMWAYR – October 4, 2015

04 Oct

This week, I posted:

-New Releases– Read my reviews for:

-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

-Reading Resolutions: September Update

-Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating mostly bookish moments.

On the Ball by Brian Pinkney

On the Ball by Brian Pinkney


[***] A boy’s imaginations helps him become a better soccer player.

The Ladybug Race by Amy Nielander

The Ladybug Race by Amy Nielander


[***] In this wordless picture book, the end is not the destination. It’s the journey and the things we do along the way that wins the race.

Moletown by Torben Kuhlmann

Moletown by Torben Kuhlmann


[**] A mostly wordless picture book that has impressive illustrations but a rather preachy message.

Use Your Imagination by Nicola O'Byrne

Use Your Imagination by Nicola O’Byrne


[***] This was not as bad as I thought it was going to be. A fun take on a familiar fairy tale.

Orion and the Dark by Emma Yarlett

Orion and the Dark by Emma Yarlett


[***]
I’d been putting this book off for awhile since the illustrations reminded me too much of someone else’s. But this was a surprisingly fun book about a boy who’s afraid of everything. When an unlikely guest visits him one night, he learns that there’s nothing to fear with a friend around.

CrenshawCrenshaw by Katherine Applegate
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A giant imaginary cat will remind lots of people of Totoro. And Crenshaw is sure memorable while tackling a rather serious as well. A boy is worried he and his family are going to end up living in their van again. Are his fears warranted? Is there something he can do? These books are hard to write- and read- because if it ends up too nicely wrapped up, it doesn’t seem realistic. If it ends up sad, then it seems depressing. I just couldn’t connect with it despite me having situations similar to it.

I do like the awareness and the campaign this book is creating.

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

Holes (Holes, #1)Holes by Louis Sachar
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow! I can’t believe I hadn’t read this book before. Now I have something else to highly recommend to anyone who wnt a flat-out great story.

A crime he didn’t commit- or is it the family curse?- lands Stanley in camp that’s less summer fun in the sun bur one-hundred percent correctional facility for other delinquent boys.

Every day, each boy digs a hole to help build his character. But Stanley discovers another reason for their back-breaking work- one that will have him come face to face with a dark past and possibly a bright future.

View all my reviews

The Inker's Shadow by Allen Say

The Inker’s Shadow by Allen Say


Read my review of this book later on in the week!

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

12 responses to “What Are You Reading? (166) #IMWAYR – October 4, 2015

  1. Michele

    October 5, 2015 at 3:24 am

    I loved Orion earlier this year. He crept into my heart 🙂
    I liked Secret Coders more than I thought I would. So many bad reviews made me go into it with lower expectations. I think kids who are into coding are going to enjoy it.

     
  2. Ms. Yingling Reads (@MsYingling)

    October 5, 2015 at 4:05 am

    I still would like to know what language Secret Coders is using. I agree that we need to teach children more coding, but I would like to see some more “how to” books. It took me a while to read Holes as well!

     
  3. Holly Mueller

    October 5, 2015 at 4:19 am

    So much here! The Inker’s Shadow and Moletown caught my eye. I, too, wrote about Crenshaw this week. Glad you read Holes! It’s a favorite among kids – boys especially love it! It ranks up there with Hatchet as a go-to that’s guaranteed to win readers.

     
  4. Linda Baie

    October 5, 2015 at 7:12 am

    Love Allen Say’s work, will look for your review. And I will look for Orion and The Dark-good to have one that you believe is a good one to address fears. I loved Holes, maybe should re-read it. I remember it being totally satisfying. Thanks, Earl, & have a good week.

     
  5. cheriee

    October 5, 2015 at 11:27 am

    Orion is one of the new books I ordered, but haven’t gotten around to reading yet. I am looking forward to The Inker’s Shadow, because I do like Say’s work.

     
  6. Kellee

    October 5, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    I love Holes, and I love reading your initial reactions of it. I wish I could read it for the first time again. Glad you liked Secret Coders! I am so looking for book 2. The PBs all look really good too!
    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  7. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    October 5, 2015 at 7:10 pm

    I can’t wait to read Zen Socks. I love Muth’s Stillwater books.

     
  8. Ricki Ginsberg

    October 5, 2015 at 8:14 pm

    I have a phobia of ladybugs. It isn’t something I admit often because I know many people will find it ridiculous. The cover of that book made me shiver! Ha!

     
  9. Jane Whittingham

    October 6, 2015 at 10:23 am

    Ha! Isn’t “Holes” an awesome book? I love Louis Sachar, a consistent kid favourite. Have a great week!

     
  10. Crystal

    October 6, 2015 at 7:25 pm

    You got my attention there. I love Allen Say’s Drawing From Memory. A companion book!? I will be sure to check back later for your review.

     
  11. The Styling Librarian

    October 6, 2015 at 8:26 pm

    So excited about Zen Socks! 🙂 Interesting to read your opinion of Crenshaw, going to begin reading it soon…

     
  12. Myra GB

    October 8, 2015 at 7:24 am

    I agree that Holes is really beautifully rendered. It is really well-thought-out and skilfully crafted, I thought. 🙂 Great to see another Allen Say PBB.

     

Leave a Reply

 
