RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #91

07 Oct

nfpb2015

The Inker's ShadowThe Inker’s Shadow by Allen Say
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was surprised and delighted to hear this was coming out because I enjoyed Drawing from Memory a lot. The Inker’s Shadow continues Allen Say’s story of becoming the illustrator he’s known as today.

I really enjoyed the different styles of telling his story from traditional picture book style to his signature style of paintings and drawings and to the use of archival photos.

While the time and experiences he writes about were fascinating, they seemed lacking in substance. He could have fleshed out certain moments or extended the period he wrote about.

View all my reviews

Funny Bones: Posada and His Day of the Dead CalaverasFunny Bones: Posada and His Day of the Dead Calaveras by Duncan Tonatiuh
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

An impressive book chock-full of information including mini printmaking techniques, the Day of the Dead celebration, and, of course, a biography of Posada with an intensive author’s note, glossary, art credits, and even a list of places where Posada’s works are displayed.

Invites readers to ponder what the calvares mean.

Illustrations were varied too from his signature collage style (that I actually forgot about since I had gotten so used to it by now. And it seems I either hate it or love it depending on the book but I’m in the latter category for this one.) from Posada to Manuel Manilla, another creator.

I can’t imagine this not getting at least a Pura Belpre honor if not the medal itself.

View all my reviews

 

9 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #91

  1. trkravtin

    October 7, 2015 at 9:07 am

    So happy you like Funny Bones!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    October 7, 2015 at 9:42 am

    Both books are on my list, Earl. I liked Drawing From Memory too, & shared it a lot with students who were budding artists. Thanks for the reviews!

     
  3. Jane Whittingham

    October 7, 2015 at 12:03 pm

    I’ve seen Funny Bones on a lot of blogs recently, I really do have to pick it up one of these days. I love picture books about art and artists, especially ones that highlight styles and cultures that the kids at my library might not be familiar with. Thanks for sharing!

     
  4. Holly Mueller

    October 7, 2015 at 5:50 pm

    I need to read both of these!

     
  5. Crystal

    October 7, 2015 at 6:13 pm

    I am eager to read both. I didn’t realize the Tonatiuh book was out already. Super excited now. 🙂

     
  6. Michele

    October 7, 2015 at 6:23 pm

    I just picked up Funny Bones at the library. Sounds like it’s going to be a good one!

     
  7. carriegelson

    October 7, 2015 at 7:29 pm

    Funny Bones is on my TBR list. Love this illustrator!

     
  8. Myra GB

    October 8, 2015 at 8:25 am

    I have to find this book by Tonatiuh that’s been receiving a lot of buzz lately. And he’s not bad-looking too!

     
  9. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    October 8, 2015 at 5:30 pm

    I love Duncan Tonatiuh’s work, so I’ll definitely have to get Funny Bones.

     

Leave a Reply

 
