RSS

Celebrate This Week- October 9, 2015

09 Oct
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating throwbacks.

I love gifts. My friend gave me an Air Supply greatest hits CD featuring the song “Making Love Out of Nothing at All.” It was a song we sang in karaoke earlier this year.

karaoke

Another friend had told me she would take me to The Book of Mormon when they tour again in Portland. I’d been wanting to see the musical but always missed out. But come January, we’ll be seeing it! Keep those friends who take you to musicals close and never let them go!

For a more literary throwback, Crockett Johnson’s Harold, of the purple crayon fame, is celebrating its 60th anniversary. Famous illustrators have been joining in on the festivities. Here’s what Eric Carle did:

eric

The most exciting thing I’m celebrating this week is that I finally got my passport so I can plan to go back to the Philippines early next year. It’ll be about 15 years since I was last there. It’ll be wonderful to see my family there again.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is “One Sweet Day” from Mariah Carey’s Daydream, which celebrated it’s 20th anniversary last week. It’s the first song of hers I recorded on tape and played, stopped, rewound and repeated multiple times to write down the lyrics!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

4 responses to “Celebrate This Week- October 9, 2015

  1. Terje

    October 10, 2015 at 9:52 am

    15 years away from home is a long time. I am very happy that you get to return.

     
  2. AnneB

    October 10, 2015 at 1:39 pm

    I am so “into” throwbacks. What a fun week of celebrations.

    Celebrate This Week post

     
  3. crbrunelle

    October 10, 2015 at 5:20 pm

    Yay for your fun throwbacks. So happy you’re getting to go back to the Philippines. That must be so exciting. Planning trips is so fun. You get to look forward to it for months. I didn’t realize Harold was 60. I might just have to do something with that in a lesson. I loved that book when I was little.

     
  4. Haddon Musings

    October 11, 2015 at 6:09 am

    Fun post. So glad you are going to get to visit your family. Fifteen years is a long time.

     

Leave a Reply

 
