RSS

What Are You Reading? (167) #IMWAYR – October 11, 2015

11 Oct

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating throwbacks.

Little Elliot, Big Family by Mike Curato

Little Elliot, Big Family by Mike Curato


[***] Little Elliot and Mouse are back in this sweet if somewhat predictable story about families. This will resonate with anyone who knows that family isn’t just the people who we’re born into but the people that make us feel like we belong.

Big Bear Little Chair by Lizi Boyd

Big Bear Little Chair by Lizi Boyd


[**] A cute book about opposites.

Thank You and Good Night by Patrick McDonnell

Thank You and Good Night by Patrick McDonnell


[****] A super adorable that celebrates friendship, gratitude and sleepovers. It has a classic picture book feel to it!

Winter: A Pop-up Book by David A. Carter

Winter: A Pop-up Book by David A. Carter


[**] A cute pop-up book for young readers.

Lenny & Lucy by Philip C. Stead, Illustrated by Erin E. Stead

Lenny & Lucy by Philip C. Stead, Illustrated by Erin E. Stead


[****] A quiet book about friendship with gorgeous illustrations that practically screams Caldecott! A boy and his family move to a new faraway lonely place but soon make friends.

Happy! by Pharrell Williams

Happy! by Pharrell Williams


[**] I liked the song. A song sometimes needs to remain a song and not a picture book.

Beyond the Pond by Joseph Kuefler

Beyond the Pond by Joseph Kuefler


[**] While it reminded me of Dr. Seuss’ McElligot’s Pool (storywise) and Jon Klassen’s illustrations, it didn’t leave much of an impression with me. A boy becomes an explorer using his imagination and ends up appreciating his place.

Please, Open This Book!  by Adam Lehrhaupt, Illustrated by Matthew Forsythe

Please, Open This Book!
by Adam Lehrhaupt, Illustrated by Matthew Forsythe


[**] A companion book to their Warning: Do Not Open This Book!, critters return to beg the reader to leave the book open to avoid all the dangers of a closed book.

There's a Little Black Spot on the Sun Today by Sven Volker

There’s a Little Black Spot on the Sun Today by Sven Volker


[***] The lyrics from Sting’s “King of Pain” is accompanied by minimalistic illustrations. The artist was inspired by the pain his son was going through. An attention grabbing book.

Ice Cream Work by Naoshi Naoshi

Ice Cream Work by Naoshi Naoshi


[***] Quirky delightful picture book about one’s work week. Readers will enjoy the absurdity of the situations and illustrations.


Meet the Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
A Day with the Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
Travels with the Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
Counting with the Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
[**] The Little Prince board books are a cute introduction to the beloved story and characters using original illustrations, and often repeated within these books. Meet the Little Prince has English and French text. Counting with the Little Prince offers a lift the flap surprise at the end.


Mini Myths: Brush Your Hair, Medusa! by Joan Holub, Illustrated by Leslie Patricelli
Mini Myths: Make a Wish, Midas! by Joan Holub, Illustrated by Leslie Patricelli
[***] Mini Myths board books introduces the youngest readers to mythology by putting the classic characters into toddler/preschool situations like not wanting to clean up one’s appearance or making a bad messy decision.

Ask Me by Bernard Waber, Illustrated by Suzy Lee

Ask Me by Bernard Waber, Illustrated by Suzy Lee


[**] A day in the life of a father-daughter duo in which he encourages her to ask him all the questions she has. Sweet but maybe a tad too sweet.

The Color Monster: A Pop-Up Book of Feelings by Anna Llenas

The Color Monster: A Pop-Up Book of Feelings by Anna Llenas


[***] A book of feelings are presented in this interactive book. Great companion to In My Heart. I even thought it was from the same person.

The NestThe Nest by Kenneth Oppel
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Nest by Kenneth Oppel with illustrations by Jon Klassen will give you nightmares! It’s definitely one of this year’s must read books. The perfect book for these chilly nights!

View all my reviews

Hilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to EarthHilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth by Judd Winick
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I wasn’t sure I was ever going to read this because it was written by a previous Real World cast member but I’m glad I did. Not only was it a reminder that reality TV was better and more substantial back then but HiLo is one of my favorite graphic novels this year.

Lots of adventure and humor. Great cast. Can’t wait for the next one!

Other books to check out until then, Smash: Trial by Fire by Chris and Kyle Bolton and Earthling! by Mark Fearing.

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

11 responses to “What Are You Reading? (167) #IMWAYR – October 11, 2015

  1. Rachel Ann

    October 11, 2015 at 9:34 pm

    Phar. wrote a book? Wow. That’s interesting. I loved your response, heeheheee. I’m intrigued by some of the *** starred ones! 🙂

     
  2. crbrunelle

    October 11, 2015 at 9:57 pm

    I loved Lenny & Lucy. I will have to watch for Thank You and Good Night. You don’t hand out 4 stars lightly. Thanks!

     
  3. Cheriee Weichel

    October 11, 2015 at 9:58 pm

    Earl, whenever you give four stars to a book, I want to run right out and purchase it because I know it will be a stellar read. And so now I am nearly desperate to read Thank You and Good Night and Lenny and Lucy! I’ve ordered Hilo and Nest from Kidsbooks and am waiting for the email telling me to come pick up my books! Kenneth Oppel is coming to the Writer’s Festival here in Vancouver this year. I’m looking forward to seeing him and getting my book autographed.

     
  4. Karen Yingling

    October 12, 2015 at 3:08 am

    You’re about the first person I’ve heard who liked The Nest at all, although Hilo was great! What a great list of picture books. I can’t stand the song Happy– a couple of years ago I had tooth problems, and every time I was in the dentist’s chair, the song came on the radio! Ouch!

     
  5. Kathy Martin

    October 12, 2015 at 6:12 am

    What an interesting variety of books. Most of them are new to me. But then I tend to read more Miccle Grade and YA. Here is my week. Happy reading!

     
  6. Elisabeth Ellington

    October 12, 2015 at 11:22 am

    Your review of Happy made me laugh out loud. I’m going to have to read Hilo. Have you read Winnick’s Pedro & Me? Really good graphic novel memoir–hasn’t received quite the attention it probably deserves, maybe because it was published before GNs went super mainstream? Lots of PBs here I want to get my hands on. Thanks for sharing and adding to the ever-growing TBR pile!

     
  7. Tammy and Clare

    October 12, 2015 at 3:25 pm

    You read so much this week – After reading your review of Lenny and Lucy we are definitely putting on our TBR pile.

     
  8. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    October 12, 2015 at 6:13 pm

    So many books here!
    I haven’t read either of the Little Elliot books yet. I need to remedy this.
    I love any book that is described as quiet, so I will definitely be looking for Lenny & Lucy.
    I also love Oppel, so I want to read The Nest, but I am scared of scary books.
    I’ve read some of the other Little Myths but not these.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  9. Ricki Ginsberg

    October 12, 2015 at 7:16 pm

    I agree with Kellee. Your review of Lenny & Lucy makes me want to read it right now! I didn’t realize the song “Happy” was a book. Hmm…

     
  10. Myra GB

    October 13, 2015 at 2:54 am

    Now I am even more intrigued by The Nest – I love scary stories! Have you read The Night Gardener? Does it have the same feel to it? Too bad you didn’t enjoy Ask Me as much as I did – you had a lot of time to read this past week! And yes the Lenny & Lucy book seems like a good book to pair with Deborah Underwood’s Bad Bye Good Bye. 🙂

     
  11. Jane Whittingham

    October 13, 2015 at 8:45 am

    I really want to pick up “Please Open This Book” – the kids adored “Don’t open this book”, so I’m excited to have a sequel to offer them! The Nest is on my TBR list for sure.

     

Leave a Reply

 
