RSS

Celebrate This Week- October 16, 2015

16 Oct
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating encounters.

Sometimes you meet people that give you an opportunity to keep believing in the good. I know I’ve had moments when people enter my life albeit briefly and I come out of it better and happier. And I love it when I get to be that person for someone.

There was a lady who came to the store and my co-worker and I ended up having dinner with her after work. She was new to Portland and I think she needed someone to talk to. So, we listened. It wasn’t too much of an imposition to stay. She was funny and interesting and a kind spirit.

I got to tell her some of my beliefs, which I love talking about.

beliefs

One of the best compliments I ever got was from her when she said my mom would have been proud to have a son like me. It’s bragging I know but whatever. I got teary eyed.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is a song from a musical I really want to see, Hamilton.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

6 responses to “Celebrate This Week- October 16, 2015

  1. Haddon Musings

    October 17, 2015 at 4:17 am

    I think any Mom would be proud to have you for a son. Your writing is and living is always full of concern for others.

     
  2. Deb Day (@mrsday75)

    October 17, 2015 at 6:21 am

    “…an opportunity to keep believing in the good.” Love that line–and it’s what I always think this weekly celebration is all about.

     
  3. Michelle Haseltine

    October 17, 2015 at 6:25 am

    What a sweet encounter! That story made me smile. Hamilton?!?! This keeps popping up. I am intrigued. Thank you for sharing!

     
  4. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    October 17, 2015 at 6:50 am

    That is so nice. It is great to be able to be there for someone, even if it is just to be someone to talk to. I think it speaks to your beliefs that you chose to be kind to someone who needed it. Have a great week!

     
  5. Linda Baie

    October 17, 2015 at 6:53 am

    You are the kind of son every mom would be proud of, and that comment to you is something to celebrate for sure, Earl. What a lovely gift you & your colleague gave to that woman, probably very lonely right now. Have a super weekend!

     
  6. Leigh Anne

    October 17, 2015 at 4:39 pm

    What a lovely comment and what a lovely gift you gave her – time. Time to listen and time share. Sometimes we get so wound up in our own lives that we forget how precious the gift of time really is.

     

Leave a Reply

 
