RSS

What Are You Reading? (168) #IMWAYR – October 18, 2015

18 Oct
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my review for:

Counting Lions: Portraits from the Wild by Katie Cotton, Illustrated by Stephen Walton

Counting Lions: Portraits from the Wild by Katie Cotton, Illustrated by Stephen Walton

-Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating encounters.

The Other Rabbit by Marank Rinck

The Other Rabbit by Marank Rinck


[**] A rabbit tries to find his pair in an adventure that leads him all over and has him meeting other creatures.

The Nonsense Show by Eric Carle

The Nonsense Show by Eric Carle


[***] Eric Carle introduces surrealism to his readers with silly questions in his latest picture book.

What's That in the Water? by Eryl Norris, Illustrated by Andy Mansfield

What’s That in the Water? by Eryl Norris, Illustrated by Andy Mansfield


[**] There’s a strange new ocean creature and everyone let’s their imagination run wild on who and what it could be in this pop-up mystery for young kids.

B is for Bear: A Natural Alphabet by Hannah Viano

B is for Bear: A Natural Alphabet by Hannah Viano


[**] In all new paper-cuts, Hannah Viano shares an A to Z collection of images from nature.

Once Upon a Northern Night by Jean E. Pendziwol, Illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault

Once Upon a Northern Night by Jean E. Pendziwol, Illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault


[****] I didn’t realize this was an older book published a few years ago with a new cover. But whatever it takes for people like me to pick up a book! This is absolutely gorgeous. Lyrical text and lush illustrations will make this a perfect book to give! Perfect for fans of The Swan!

How to Be by Lisa Brown

How to Be by Lisa Brown


[***] Following instructions on how to be certain animals (as shown on the cover), readers can discover how to be a person.

The Boy who Lost his Bumble by Trudi Esberger

The Boy who Lost his Bumble by Trudi Esberger


[**] A boy wonders where his buzzing friends disappeared to when winter comes. Includes a two-page non-fiction spread about bees.

The Peddler's Bed by Lauri Fortino, Illustrated by Bong Redila

The Peddler’s Bed by Lauri Fortino, Illustrated by Bong Redila


[***] Great colorful illustrations can be found in this surprising story about kindness. An old man who’s surrounded by things that go squeak is offered an incredibly comfortable bed by a passing peddler.

My Two Blankets by Irena Kobald, Illustrated by Freya Blackwood

My Two Blankets by Irena Kobald, Illustrated by Freya Blackwood


[***] A great story for young readers about immigration and assimilation. A girl moves to a new country where everything is different. She befriends another young girl who gives her a sense of belonging.

Too Many Tables by Abraham Schroeder, Illustrated by Micah Monkey

Too Many Tables by Abraham Schroeder, Illustrated by Micah Monkey


[***] A restaurant is about to open. Everything is perfect until the crew realizes there are no tables! With a request here and there, they get all kinds of tables from all kinds of people- until they are overwhelmed with tables. Readers will be delighted by this story and enjoy the silliness in the illustrations.

The Read-Aloud HandbookThe Read-Aloud Handbook by Jim Trelease
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It may be because the author was preaching to the choir of the importance of reading aloud to children but I was agreeing wholeheartedly the whole time. Combining facts and personal stories, he provides a strong case for it. This updated edition tackles digital literacy. And, something more important, the books take on the importance of fathers stepping up and joining the “game” of reading to their kids. Also includes a treasury of titles to help adults find the perfect book.

View all my reviews

The Princess in Black and the Perfect Princess Party (The Princess in Black, #2)The Princess in Black and the Perfect Princess Party by Shannon Hale
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Princess Magnolia is back in this delightful tale. What’s a secret superhero to do when the kingdom is in danger but she has her birthday party happening at the same time?

View all my reviews

Timmy Failure: Sanitized for Your ProtectionTimmy Failure: Sanitized for Your Protection by Stephan Pastis
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Timmy Failure is back and this time he brings his detective skills on the road. I’ve always enjoyed the fine line between his antics and him having to come to terms with growing up but I really wanted the author to take it to the next level with this one. It would probably make the series incredible.

View all my reviews

Pigsticks and Harold And The Tuptown ThiefPigsticks and Harold And The Tuptown Thief by Alex Milway
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Fans of Elephant & Piggie who want longer stories will probably enjoy this series about two friends who despite their differences are there for one another. The second installment finds the duo donning their detective duds to capture a thief before an annual celebration gets cancelled.

View all my reviews

Community Building: What Makes It Work: A Review of Factors Influencing Successful Community BuildingCommunity Building: What Makes It Work: A Review of Factors Influencing Successful Community Building by Paul Mattessich
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A useful book to have for anyone interested in starting a community building component into their organization- or maybe to re-energize themselves.

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

Chain Letter: Chain Letter; The Ancient EvilChain Letter: Chain Letter; The Ancient Evil by Christopher Pike
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

(The omnibus includes Chain Letter and Chain Letter: The Ancient Evil.)

A group of high school friends start getting chain letters telling each of them to do something that puts their reputations at risk. At first, they think it’s a joke because how could anyone besides them know what they did last summer? Then accidents begin to happen when they refuse their tasks. What’s asked of them gets bigger and more dangerous. Can they figure out who the mysterious sender is?

It was interesting to read these two novels back to back since there were many years written between them- and Christopher Pike’s writing had changed as well. The first one seemed more psychological and straight out horror while the second was more supernatural, edgier and more gruesome.

View all my reviews
[Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]

Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert


[****] Hello folks, creative friends. Please allow me to go all Oprah on you for a moment as I tell you to read Elizabeth Gilbert’s Big Magic. Whatever field you dabble in or even if you’re not sure yet but just want a field to play in, this book will give you a nudge in the right direction. Read it!

I already want to reread it myself because there were so many parts that spoke to me and I want to make sure I let them soak in.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

Advertisements
 

5 responses to “What Are You Reading? (168) #IMWAYR – October 18, 2015

  1. Elisabeth Ellington

    October 19, 2015 at 10:17 am

    I remember reading Christopher Pike’s Chain Letter way back when it was first published! I loved his books when I was 12 or 13. Just the right amount of scare. I just bought Big Magic–looking forward to reading it. Have you listened to her podcast? Otherwise, I think all your books are new to me. Adding lots of titles to my TBR list–thank you!

     
  2. cheriee

    October 19, 2015 at 10:34 am

    Oh Earl, so many books. I want to find Once Upon a Northern Night and Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear. This is my last year of teaching and this sounds like the kind of book to prepare me for my life beyond.
    I’m not sure I’m ready for Chain Letter, Chain Letter, but I bet some of my readers would eat them up.

     
  3. Linda Baie

    October 19, 2015 at 1:21 pm

    Wow, you’ve shared a lot of books that I know I’ll love, like Too Many Tables, the new Eric Carle and B Is For Bear, plus hearing about the Elisabeth Gilbert one again makes me really consider it. Thank you, Earl.

     
  4. Jane Whittingham

    October 19, 2015 at 4:14 pm

    So many books!! Where to start?!? I need to pick up “My Two Blankets”, I work with a very diverse group of kiddies, and I’m always looking for books that capture the immigrant experience, both from the point of few of immigrant children and from the point of view of local children who get to know them. Thanks for sharing all these great books, I really need to up my reading game!

     
  5. Myra GB

    October 20, 2015 at 9:15 pm

    Two Blankets was a title that most of my friends from Australia have been recommending to me while I was in Perth – newly published book that has been rightfully receiving a great deal of buzz, I thought. I should find it and read it soon. Once Upon a Northern Night looks gorgeous too. I have a copy of The Read Aloud Handbook which I borrowed for the longest time from our NIE library, but haven’t gotten around to reading yet!! How awesome that you finished reading it!

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: