RSS

Celebrate This Week- October 23, 2015

23 Oct
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating my writing.

I’ve wanted to be a writer for the longest time- since 1995, in fact. But after getting sidetracked and procrastinating with occasional bursts of inspiration and actual writing, I feel I’m back on track.

I had decided to be a picture book writer a few years ago since I had a character in mind. And, it was only recently that I decided that I didn’t need to be the illustrator as well. It was difficult to let go of all that images I had in my head. I will just trust the more talented hands of illustrators once it finds a home.

Relinquishing the visuals allowed me to focus on the stories. I completed the manuscript of a picture book I’m super proud of. I’ve been letting others read it to give me feedback. I even attended a critique group last night.

I appreciate all the comments I’ve received so far. I can’t wait to polish my work so it’ll be ready to send out. As an added bonus, I feel outright creative. I’m going to continue writing stories while I wait to get picked up and published.

This is the life I’ve been dreaming of. I’m glad to be living it.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is the “Nothing Without Love” music video by Nate Ruess.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

2 responses to “Celebrate This Week- October 23, 2015

  1. Linda Baie

    October 25, 2015 at 12:14 pm

    That’s just awesome, Earl. Best wishes for all your stories! Did you know there’s a person that hosts picture book idea month? It’s here: http://taralazar.com/2015/10/25/piboidmo-2015-registration-is-open/

     
  2. crbrunelle

    October 25, 2015 at 2:04 pm

    Congrats on your book! I wish it and you the best. It’s an awesome thing to be living the life that you’ve dreamed.

     

Leave a Reply

 
