RSS

What Are You Reading? (169) #IMWAYR – October 25, 2015

25 Oct

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my review for:

Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear by Lindsay Mattick, Illustrated by Sophie Blackall

Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear by Lindsay Mattick, Illustrated by Sophie Blackall

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating my writing.

Pom Pom Gets the Grumps by Sophy Henn

Pom Pom Gets the Grumps by Sophy Henn


[***] A grumpy panda ends up driving his friends away with his attitude.

I Used to Be Afraid by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

I Used to Be Afraid by Laura Vaccaro Seeger


[***] What are you afraid of? This highly creative book takes a fun look at our fears- and how sometimes they aren’t as scary as we think they are!

Not Norman: A Goldfish Story by Kelly Bennett, Illustrated by Noah Z. Jones

Not Norman: A Goldfish Story by Kelly Bennett, Illustrated by Noah Z. Jones


[***] This year’s Read for the Record pick is about a boy who’s not pleased with his goldfish. But during his attempt to perhaps sell or trade his pet, he begins to see some of Norman’s redeeming qualities.

Monster ABC by Derek and Kyle Sullivan

Monster ABC by Derek and Kyle Sullivan


[***] Pacific Northwest twin brothers write and illustrate this cute board book features 26 monsters and simple rhyming text. Check out Hazy Dell Press to see more images from this book.

One Day, The End. by Rebecca Kai Dotlich, Illustrated by Fred Koehler

One Day, The End. by Rebecca Kai Dotlich, Illustrated by Fred Koehler


[***] Cute book of a spunky girl and her very short stories. Readers will enjoy all the goings-on in the illustrations.

A Dog Wearing Shoes by Sangmi Ko

A Dog Wearing Shoes by Sangmi Ko


[***] Surprisingly sweet tale of finding a lost dog and letting go. Fantastic for people thinking of getting a pet and a great way to get one!

Have a Little Pun: An Illustrated Play on WordsHave a Little Pun: An Illustrated Play on Words by Frida Clements
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

What can I say? I love puns! These are accompanied by great illustrations.

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

It was a Kate DiCamillo kind of week! I finished all her novels for my reading challenge!

The Magician's ElephantThe Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“There,” she said. She rocked him back and forth. “There, you foolish, beautiful boy who wants to change the world. There, there. And who could keep from loving you? Who could keep from loving a boy so brave and true?”

By now, I see recurrent styles in Kate DiCamillo’s works. She tends to repeat things- phrases mostly within each story- giving them significance. She also tends to isolate her characters in a way that spotlights each of their uniqueness. It always seems like an ensemble cast.

The Magician’s Elephant is no different. But it feels special still. The words are beautiful. The characters-I think I tend to gravitate to those who are at their core kind and hopeful despite being flawed or in pain.

I love themes of family that doesn’t feel heavy handed. I love it when the story stays with me even after the last page. I love having felt some sense of magic, coming out of it believing elephants can drop down from nowhere in real life.

View all my reviews

The Miraculous Journey of Edward TulaneThe Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This was too sentimental even for me. I loved the illustrations though and the format. People who love The Velveteen Rabbit may enjoy this one.

View all my reviews

Because of Winn-DixieBecause of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I knew this was going to be a tear-jerker (a reason why I never wanted to read this) but it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.

I’m not an animal person by any means (another reason why I never wanted to read this) and I definitely felt it was trying to sell me how awesome it would be to have a dog.

I love books that are basically made up of the characters’ stories. This definitely had an old-timey feel to it.

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

Edited to add more last minute reads! And to say I’ll be doing Picture Book Idea Month!
piboidmo2015participant

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? (169) #IMWAYR – October 25, 2015

  1. Cheriee Weichel

    October 25, 2015 at 8:52 pm

    Oh how I loved The Magician’s Elephant. Finishing it felt like having come out of a profound experience. I loved it so much that I purchased a lit circle set for our school. Our grade 5, 6, and 7’s have some impressive conversations as they read it.

     
  2. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    October 26, 2015 at 11:53 am

    Five Stars?!?! Wow! That means I need to read it. I love DiCamillo, but I haven’t read that one yet.
    I need to read all of the picture books you mentioned–especially Winnie, One Day, and ABCs.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  3. Ricki Ginsberg

    October 26, 2015 at 3:15 pm

    Every time I come to this page, I find more books to read that I haven’t heard of! The cover of A Dog Wearing Shoes makes me chuckle.

    I loved The Magician’s Elephant. It is such a beautiful story!

     
  4. Lisa Maucione (@DrLMaucione)

    October 26, 2015 at 3:40 pm

    I’m reading a lot of good reviews for Winnie. I definitely need to read it. I’m waiting for A Dog Wearing Shoes to come in at the library. Sounds great. Thanks for sharing.

     
  5. Tammy and Clare

    October 26, 2015 at 4:40 pm

    So many people wrote about Finding Winnie this week – Can’t wait to read another story about the real Winnie the Pooh.

     
  6. Kay McGriff (@kaymcgriff)

    October 26, 2015 at 4:43 pm

    I had to laugh when I saw PomPom gets the Grumps. That pretty well sums up my daughter today. (She hit a deer–or rather the deer charged her car–as she drove to school today.) If I had it, I would read it to her. I guess we’ll have to stick with old Alexander and his day today.

     
  7. Crystal

    October 26, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    I have so much love for Kate DiCamillo and her stories. Pom Pom looks so hilarious. What a great pout.

     
  8. Myra GB

    October 29, 2015 at 4:43 pm

    That’s a whole LOT of Kate DiCamillo you have here – I own most of these books but haven’t gotten around to reading any of them yet – but I fell in love with Flora and Ulysses. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
