RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #94

28 Oct

nfpb2015

Sewing Stories: Harriet Powers' Journey from Slave to ArtistSewing Stories: Harriet Powers’ Journey from Slave to Artist by Barbara Herkert
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A beautiful and inspiring story about Harriet Powers who was born into slavery but created art (in the form of story quilts) that was able to rise above the hate and raise one spirits. I love that alongside the story of her life were additional patchwork facts.

I also appreciated how the quilts she worked on were included with explanations.

View all my reviews

Mary Cassatt: Extraordinary Impressionist PainterMary Cassatt: Extraordinary Impressionist Painter by Barbara Herkert
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A wonderful biography of an artist who I knew a little bit about and was pleased to learn more about. Mary Cassatt was another example of someone who wasn’t going to let the world put her in a place. She knew what she wanted and went for it- with a little help from some fellow artists. And the world was made more beautiful because of it. Gorgeous illustrations.

View all my reviews

 

2 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #94

  1. Linda Baie

    October 28, 2015 at 12:30 pm

    Both so new, and both look interesting, Earl. I just read Jeannine Atkin’s book A Woman In Blue, about May Alcott, who became friends with Mary Cassatt, a time when women struggle to be respected as artists. The Sewing Stories also looks nice. Thanks!

     
  2. alybee930

    October 29, 2015 at 11:52 am

    I meant to read the Mary Cassat book before my Wednesday post and somehow left it out. I need to find Sewing Stories.

     

Leave a Reply

 
