RSS

What Are You Reading? (170) #IMWAYR – November 1, 2015

01 Nov

This week, I posted:

New Release– Read my review for:

I Really Like Slop! by Mo Willems

I Really Like Slop! by Mo Willems


And, please like that Facebook page if you haven’t yet! Thanks!

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating picture books. Read my reviews for 10 picture books released these past few months including:

Little Tree by Loren Long

Little Tree by Loren Long

Reading Resolutions: October Update– Read my review for:

Dealing with Dragons with Patricia C. Wrede

Dealing with Dragons with Patricia C. Wrede

Max the Brave by Ed Vere

Max the Brave by Ed Vere


[***] Max is set to catch a mouse if only he knew what mice looked like. A fun story.

Green Lizards vs. Red Rectangles by Steve Antony

Green Lizards vs. Red Rectangles by Steve Antony


[**] I was excited to see another Steve Antony book but this fell flat to me. Reminded me of The Butter Battle Book by Dr. Seuss.

 The Queen's Hat by Steve Antony

The Queen’s Hat by Steve Antony


[***] A wind sweeps the Queen’s hat off her head in this charming picture book that takes readers on a tour all over England.

Lady Pancake & Sir French Toast by Josh Funk, Illustrated by Brendan Kearney

Lady Pancake & Sir French Toast by Josh Funk, Illustrated by Brendan Kearney


[***] I usually don’t like books in verse but the rhyme scheme in this one worked well. I can see this being enjoyed during story time.

must-read-2015-logo

The Seven Dials Mystery by Agatha Christie

The Seven Dials Mystery by Agatha Christie


[***] [Off the Shelf Reading Challenge] [Agatha Christie Reading Challenge]

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

5 responses to “What Are You Reading? (170) #IMWAYR – November 1, 2015

  1. Laura Cooper

    November 1, 2015 at 9:26 pm

    So many good ones here. I Really Like Slop is up next for me this week, and I really want to read Max the Brave.

     
  2. Lisa Maucione (@DrLMaucione)

    November 2, 2015 at 3:39 am

    I think the illustrations are the greatest part of I Really Like Slop! It is such a funny, cute series. I didn’t realize there were so many books in the series until I saw the list at the end of the book. My students just love them.

     
  3. Linda Baie

    November 2, 2015 at 6:20 am

    Lots of good ones here, Earl. I still need to read Lady Pancake & Sir French Toast and Little Tree. Thanks, & have a good week, too!

     
  4. Jane Whittingham

    November 2, 2015 at 3:00 pm

    Oooh new Elephant and Piggy – I have to get my hands on that before it disappears off the shelves. 🙂

     
  5. cheriee

    November 2, 2015 at 3:16 pm

    Dealing with Dragons sounds like an interesting book – especially since you gave it 4 stars. High praise indeed! I just went and downloaded it from our local library as an audiobook. I love Max and just realized that while I read it from netgalley, I never actually bought the book. so today I ordered it and Lady Pancake.

     

Leave a Reply

 
