RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #95

04 Nov

nfpb2015

PBMBADGE-AMBASSADOR-FB-300x245
For Picture Book Month, I’ll be reading a Nonfiction Picture Book a day.

The Book Itch: Freedom, Truth, & Harlem's Greatest BookstoreThe Book Itch: Freedom, Truth, & Harlem’s Greatest Bookstore by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is basically a picture book edition of No Crystal Stair: A Documentary Novel of the Life and Work of Lewis Michaux, Harlem Bookseller, also by the same team. It’s a great story of how someone’s dream (the author’s great uncle) became something bigger than he could have anticipated.

National Memorial African Bookstore was more than a bookstore. It housed ideas, free and radical. It welcomed people thirsty for knowledge and changemakers like Muhammad Ali and Malcolm X.

I would recommend both books.

View all my reviews

The House That Jane Built: A Story About Jane AddamsThe House That Jane Built: A Story About Jane Addams by Tanya Lee Stone
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I had so many wrong assumptions about this book! For instance, I thought this was about the wife of John Adams (despite the difference in spelling) which just goes to show how amazing I am with history. Luckily, this book kept showing up on lots of NFPB posts and I was intrigued. I’m so glad I picked it up because what Jane Addams did through Hull House (and other things mentioned in the Author’s Note) is something I want to help happen in this world. People coming together to build a community- the ones who are able to helping those in need and the ones who may not have as much still finding ways to contribute or having a place to eat or bathe.

View all my reviews

Where Did My Clothes Come From?Where Did My Clothes Come From? by Chris Butterworth
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

An interesting look on how clothes are made in terms of their fabric- from cotton to wool to silk and so on. Not too much text but lots of vibrant illustrations will make this a fun informative read with kids.

View all my reviews

 

5 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #95

  1. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    November 4, 2015 at 11:22 am

    The Book Itch looks phenomenal, and I love Stone’s work.
    Thank you for sharing all 3!

     
  2. Jane Whittingham

    November 4, 2015 at 12:45 pm

    Where Did My Clothes Come From? sounds like a really interesting read. Urban kids sometimes need to be reminded that our clothes and food didn’t just magically arrive in the store, and that our belongings link us to people all around the world. Thanks for sharing!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    November 4, 2015 at 4:26 pm

    I hope I can find Where Did My Clothes come from. It sounds good, Earl, a perfect kind of systems thinking and connections.

     
  4. Annette Pimentel

    November 4, 2015 at 4:41 pm

    I had thought The Book Itch was a middle grade title. Thanks for clarifying! I just ordered it from my library.

     
  5. Kathy Martin

    November 9, 2015 at 1:23 pm

    Nice assortment of books. I want to move into that library but I do wish their collection was more current. So many old books! You can see what I read here. Happy reading!

     

Leave a Reply

 
