RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – November 8, 2015

08 Nov

This week, I posted:

#IMWAYR– Updated since I forgot to include the reviews the first time around.

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

The Book Itch: Freedom, Truth, & Harlem's Greatest Bookstore by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, Illustrated by R. Gregory Christie

The Book Itch: Freedom, Truth, & Harlem’s Greatest Bookstore by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, Illustrated by R. Gregory Christie

 The House That Jane Built: A Story About Jane Addams by Tanya Lee Stone, Illustrated by Kathryn Brown

The House That Jane Built: A Story About Jane Addams by Tanya Lee Stone, Illustrated by Kathryn Brown

Where Did My Clothes Come From? by Chris Butterworth

Where Did My Clothes Come From? by Chris Butterworth

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating gratitude and my #Grateful4 challenge.

The Snowball by Giuliano Ferri

The Snowball by Giuliano Ferri


[***] A cute board book with die-cuts of a snowball that gets out of control. Apparently some editions are wordless and some have simple text.

Is Mommy? by Victoria Chang, Illustrated by Marla Frazee

Is Mommy? by Victoria Chang, Illustrated by Marla Frazee


[***] I remember this being read to us during the Children’s Institute. It’s nice to see this in physical book form.

One Today by Richard Blanco, Illustrated by Dav Pilkey

One Today by Richard Blanco, Illustrated by Dav Pilkey


[***] I love that this poem is available as a picture book for younger readers to enjoy. Read my review of Richard Blanco’s memoir/poetry collection here.

My Wild Family by Laurent Moreau

My Wild Family by Laurent Moreau


[***] A girl gives animal attributes to various family members and wonders about what makes her unique.

I'm New Here by Anne Sibley O'Brien

I’m New Here by Anne Sibley O’Brien


[***] We follow three students from different backgrounds as they adjust to their new school. This is great for both the newbies in class (to let them know things get easier) and the students already there in how to make them feel more welcome.

The Plan by Alison Paul, Illustrated by Barbara Lehman

The Plan by Alison Paul, Illustrated by Barbara Lehman


[***] A fun story of what happens when you add, take away or replace a letter in a word. This follows one girl’s plan to fly a plane. This is also a good story about moving on from a loss.

tough guys
[****] Great book about masculinity and emotions.

snowflake
[***] Two worlds collide in this artistic vision of laser cuts and fold outs. How does a snowflake meet an ink drop and how do their worlds change after their chance encounter.

snowrabbit
[***] A wordless picture book takes readers into a winter landscape. It’s the story of two sisters and a snow rabbit they come across. A surprisingly affecting book.

papertoys
[***] This pop-up will delight readers of all ages.

tiger
[***] Hauntingly beautiful. The story and the illustrations will stay with you long after you close the book.

How Mirka Caught a Fish (Hereville #3)How Mirka Caught a Fish by Barry Deutsch
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

As much as I was hoping there’d be a new title in this series, I was still surprised when I found out there was one! What I like about this graphic novel is that Mirka is your typical untypical heroine. She gets into lots of trouble. She’s an Orthodox Jew in a stepfamily. Her relationship with her stepmother is particularly complex. I also enjoy learning new words and traditions throughout.

View all my reviews

The Rest of Us Just Live HereThe Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

At times, brilliant. At other times, too smart for its own good.

At times, insightful. At other times, very preachy.

Patrick Ness tells the story of the Unchosen Ones, those who aren’t destined to save the world but still have to deal with the fall out between the battles of Good and Evil.

It took awhile to get into but once it got good, it was unputdownable.

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

Partners in Crime (Tommy and Tuppence, #2)Partners in Crime by Agatha Christie
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I usually don’t write reviews for Agatha Christie books since how many times can I say how much I liker her and how brilliant she is.

While I enjoyed the characters of husband and wife adventurers, Tommy and Tuppence, and the humor of using the different detecting skills of various famous sleuths including Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot, the mysteries were kind of weak and basic.

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

10 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – November 8, 2015

  1. Myra GB

    November 9, 2015 at 3:54 am

    Hi Earl! I totally hear you about The Rest Of Us Just Live Here – somehow I was expecting more but didn’t quite get it. I pinned all the picturebook biographies you shared here, will definitely make sure I find them very soon. I adore Thurber – and will try to find that picturebook (although the book cover isn’t really all that inviting).

     
  2. Michele

    November 9, 2015 at 6:38 am

    I just saw The Plan highlighted somewhere, maybe The Horn Book. It looks interesting and sad.
    I’m looking forward to Is Mommy? but mostly for the illustrations. I love Marla’s work!
    I have The Rest of Us… not sure when I’ll get to it. I haven’t fallen for Ness’ other work like most people have.

     
  3. Linda Baie

    November 9, 2015 at 8:22 am

    Lots of people are sharing the new Patrick Ness. I do love his books, & hope I can get to it soon. Great picture books today, Earl. I bookmarked many, so thanks for sharing, most new to me.

     
  4. Lisa Maucione (@DrLMaucione)

    November 9, 2015 at 4:24 pm

    I have a collection of wordless books. I am not familiar with the Snow Rabbit so thanks for sharing it.

     
  5. Jana Eschner (@JanaTheTeacher)

    November 9, 2015 at 4:43 pm

    What a great list of nonfiction books. I don’t think I read enough of these, even though I know I should. Definitely going to check out these titles and see if my library has them. Thanks!

     
  6. tbmulligan

    November 9, 2015 at 5:17 pm

    Wow! So many books – Tough Guys Have Feelings Too is now on our TBR stack. Thanks

     
  7. Ricki Ginsberg

    November 9, 2015 at 8:11 pm

    I am definitely going to get Tough Guys for my son. Gender and society is very frustrating for me (as a mom, particularly), so I am working really hard to expose him to positive viewpoints. Thanks for sharing!

     
  8. Cheriee Weichel

    November 9, 2015 at 8:11 pm

    I have actually added Tough Guys to my shopping cart. I keep hearing a lot of good stuff about Patrick Ness’ new book, but I am still traumatized after reading the first book in Chaos Walking.

     
  9. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    November 10, 2015 at 6:27 pm

    Thank you for introducing me to a ton of PBs I don’t know!
    I look forward to reading the new Hereville. I was a fan of the first two.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  10. Crystal

    November 14, 2015 at 2:42 pm

    The Book Itch and Tough Guys caught my attention. I’ll be tracking down both.

     

Leave a Reply

 
