RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #96

11 Nov

nfpb2015

For Picture Book Month, I’ll be reading a Nonfiction Picture Book a day.

For Picture Book Month, I’ll be reading a Nonfiction Picture Book a day.

Boys of Steel: The Creators of SupermanBoys of Steel: The Creators of Superman by Marc Tyler Nobleman
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A fascinating look at the creators of a legendary character. Two boys who were more Clark Kent than Superman follow their passion of creating action packed stories. While some weren’t runaway hits, they persevered until they hit the big time with their caped crusader. And, even then, they suffered lots of struggles- the biggest of which was ensuring they were credited- and paid- for their creation!

View all my reviews

Walt Disney: His Life In PicturesWalt Disney: His Life In Pictures by Russell Schroeder
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Walt Disney is definitely one of my Creative Heroes who’s made me believe in make-believe. This visual biography is a breezy read full of photographs from the Disney archives and quotes from the man himself from his early days and then divided into decades- with an introduction by one of his daughters. It reminded me how hard work and a dream can lead to a beautiful life. How fortunate we are to have enjoyed (and continue to do so to this day) his stories, his films, and his magic!

View all my reviews

How Did That Get In My Lunchbox?: The Story of FoodHow Did That Get In My Lunchbox?: The Story of Food by Chris Butterworth
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

An interesting look on how some of the more common school lunches got there. From the bread and cheese of the sandwich, to the fruit and even the chocolate chips in the cookies, readers will enjoy this nonfiction picture book.

View all my reviews

All About the Philippines: Stories, Songs, Crafts and Games for KidsAll About the Philippines: Stories, Songs, Crafts and Games for Kids by Gidget Jimemez
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m still excited when I find a book about my culture (even kids books) that doesn’t seem boring or textbook-sy. All About the Philippines is a great title to have in any classroom library and is apparently part of a series that focuses on other Asian countries. I know I will definitely seek them out as well.

Readers follow three cousins from the Philippines as they learn about their country- from origin folk tale stories, traditions, values, and history. It’s actually very comprehensive in a not overwhelming of a format. There are even instructions to make a couple crafts and recipes for some dishes!

View all my reviews

Carrots Like Peas: and other fun factsCarrots Like Peas: and other fun facts by Hannah Eliot
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Fun food facts take center stage in the latest title in the Did You Know series. The vibrant and colorful illustrations add another level of enjoyment to these books.. If those weren’t enough, they cram more information at the end!

View all my reviews

Can You Whoo, Too?Can You Whoo, Too? by Harriet Ziefert
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is another example of what you think would be a traditional picture book but it’s actually very informative. One can read the story throughout and enjoy the pictures. And then they can go back and read the nonfiction text to learn more about animal sounds and what they mean- or just read it as they go through.

View all my reviews

To Dare Mighty Things: The Life of Theodore RooseveltTo Dare Mighty Things: The Life of Theodore Roosevelt by Doreen Rappaport
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

C.F. Payne’s image of a laughing Theodore Roosevelt taking up the whole front cover of the book will surely grab people’s attention. With more eye-catching illustrations inside, Doreen Rappaport’s equally beautiful and captivating text, and quotes from the former president, this is a nice picture book to springboard to know more about Theodore Roosevelt.

View all my reviews

 

4 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #96

  1. Linda Baie

    November 11, 2015 at 11:56 am

    I enjoyed Boys of Steel very much, too, Earl. I guess I didn’t know you had a Philippino background. One of my nieces is from the Philippines, & I will be sure she gets this book. I think she’ll love it, especially since you say it’s good. Thanks.

     
  2. Michele

    November 11, 2015 at 6:48 pm

    Just added the Walt Disney book to my library holds list!
    I read the Carrots/Peas book today and really enjoyed it. I think more than the others in the series. I stopped many times and just said, “huh!” I’m going to use it with students when I start my informational unit to show how to mark new information. Lots to learn in a very fun way.

     
  3. carriegelson

    November 11, 2015 at 9:42 pm

    Love that you are reading a nonfiction picture book every day! Some interesting choices. Some new to me. Looking closely at your stars.

     
  4. Myra GB

    November 11, 2015 at 10:45 pm

    I enjoyed All About the Philippines and reviewed that as well a few months ago, I think. Great to see a lot of PBBs here too, will pin them so that I won’t forget them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
