RSS

What Are You Reading? (172) #IMWAYR – November 15, 2015

15 Nov

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Writing Entry #1– The story so far in terms of my writing life.

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Mariah Carey’s All I Want for Christmas is You! Read my review for:
aiw1

Related to my Commitment to Literacy, I shared #MyGivingStory to try and win a $5000 grant for The Children’s Book Bank. Please vote by liking it here: http://woobox.com/kxdcce/vote/for/11294621

I’m actually in a reading funk!

Lost. Found. by Marsha Diane Arnold, Illustrated by Matthew Cordell

Lost. Found. by Marsha Diane Arnold, Illustrated by Matthew Cordell


[***] Simple, sweet story of one scarf, two words, and a wild assortment of animals all leading into a beautiful resolution.

Fred by Kaila Eunhye Seo

Fred by Kaila Eunhye Seo


[****] This has become one of my favorite picture books this year, another tale about an imaginary friend. A coming of age story of what we leave behind and what we should hold on to.

Mango, Abuela, and Me by Meg Medina, Illustrated by Angela Dominguez

Mango, Abuela, and Me by Meg Medina, Illustrated by Angela Dominguez


[***] If you liked Last Stop on Market Street, you’ll enjoy this book. A girl’s grandma moves in and despite the language barrier they teach one another the language they speak. Touching.

The Nightmare Before Christmas by Tim Burton

The Nightmare Before Christmas by Tim Burton


[***] I’m sure I must have watched the film way back in the day but I can’t for the life of me remember what it was about. So before viewing the film again, I decided to read the book. It was a fun dark silly treat.

The Tea Party in the Woods by Akiko Miyakoshi

The Tea Party in the Woods by Akiko Miyakoshi


[***] This has been a much raved about book at our store. I thought it was going to be a take on Little Red Riding Hood but it was more Alice in Wonderland if anything. A surprising tale of kindness and bravery.

Phoebe and Her Unicorn (Heavenly Nostrils #1)Phoebe and Her Unicorn by Dana Simpson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was an unusual reading experience for me. It was more slice of life with connecting story arcs rather than one throughout. I liked the unlikely pairing of a girl and her unicorn, both of whom are neck in neck absorbed in their own selves but manage to find a lasting friendship with one another.

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying UpThe Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondō
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

At first this book sparked disbelief. I don’t think you could have gone anywhere without hearing or seeing a mention of this book. When I finally got around to reading it, the claims sounded so extreme that it was like reading the script of an infomercial. But she did at least win me over to her side by the end.

Her tips and approach are definitely take it or leave it. Of course, if you want it to work, you should take it. Probably the most outlandish thing I read was (not) folding socks so it wouldn’t hurt their feelings. I don’t think I’ll be talking to my socks any time soon but I can understand the concept of how everything has an energy around them and if we direct care and gratitude towards each one, they’ll be happier.

At any case, I cleaned my room a bit after finishing this book.

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “What Are You Reading? (172) #IMWAYR – November 15, 2015

  1. Cheriee Weichel

    November 15, 2015 at 9:12 pm

    All I want for Christmas is one of my favourite tunes! I shall look forward to reading this book! Fred and Mango, Abuela, and Me sound like delightful picture books. I saw The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up in Costco last weekend, but I resisted it. I’m kind of glad I did, although I could use a little of this kind of magic these days.

     
  2. Lisa Maucione (@DrLMaucione)

    November 16, 2015 at 3:27 am

    Another imaginary friend book! That’s quite a popular topic lately. Mango, Abuela, and Me sounds sweet.

     
  3. Michele

    November 16, 2015 at 6:07 am

    I enjoyed The Tea Party in the Woods and Lost. Found. too! The other books are new for me, thanks!

     
  4. Ms. Yingling Reads (@MsYingling)

    November 16, 2015 at 11:14 am

    Phoebe and her Unicorn are definitely comic strips, so not much plot. The students love anything comic, though.

     
  5. Ricki Ginsberg

    November 16, 2015 at 6:36 pm

    I want to grab a copy of Can You Whoo, Too? I imagine my son would love the sound effects of saying “Whoo, Too” in a row. Ha.
    Have you read More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera? I know I mentioned it on my blog today, but after your comment about YAL, I was thinking you might like it.

     
  6. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    November 16, 2015 at 6:46 pm

    I love Nightmare Before Christmas, but hadn’t realized there was a book–thank you!
    I loved Phoebe and her Unicorn. Reminds me of Calvin and Hobbes 🙂

    Happy reading this week!

     
  7. Myra GB

    November 16, 2015 at 7:32 pm

    Very interesting to read your thoughts about Phoebe and Her Unicorn – I usually steer clear of too-pink covers. I love the look of that Tim Burton holiday-themed book, I shall have to find that one in our library and share it for Christmas! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
