RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #97

18 Nov

nfpb2015

PBMBADGE-AMBASSADOR-FB-300x245

For Picture Book Month, I’ll be reading a Nonfiction Picture Book a day.


Seedlings by Kate Riggs
[**] Seedlings, a nonfiction series for kids, have expanded from animals to include vehicles through photographs and simple text. Includes a glossary at the end.

Jump!: From the Life of Michael JordanJump!: From the Life of Michael Jordan by Floyd Cooper
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Even for a sports non-fan like me, I knew who Michael Jordan was and saw how people seemed to gravitate to him. His game really enthralled people and this picture book is a great story to share what it took for him to get to the top of his game!
View all my reviews

Daredevil: The Daring Life of Betty SkeltonDaredevil: The Daring Life of Betty Skelton by Meghan Mccarthy
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I’d been wanting to read this nonfiction picture book for awhile and it did not disappoint. Meet Betty Skelton, defying odds and expectations as she breaks records in the air, in the water and on land. She aimed for the stars and while she couldn’t get there literally it didn’t stop her from trying and hopefully inspiring others along the way!
View all my reviews

This Bridge Will Not Be GrayThis Bridge Will Not Be Gray by Dave Eggers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
One of the best picture books I read this year!

Fun text and paper cut-outs tell the story of how the Golden Gate Bridge came to be- and how it came to be bright orange at that!

The dustjacket folds out into a poster.
View all my reviews

Busy AnimalsBusy Animals by Britta Teckentrup
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
An introductory text to animals and how the live, eat, move, and even poop. Lots of visuals and questions for readers to ponder.
View all my reviews

Welcome to the Symphony: A Musical Exploration of the Orchestra Using Beethoven's Symphony No. 5Welcome to the Symphony: A Musical Exploration of the Orchestra Using Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 by Carolyn Sloan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Introducing a cute and fun way to learn about the symphony.

Learn about Beethoven, the different instruments of the orchestra, and how to incorporate classical music into everyday life. It features an impressive 19 sound bites including excerpts of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 that will thrill readers!
View all my reviews

The Nutcracker Comes to America: How Three Ballet-Loving Brothers Created a Holiday TraditionThe Nutcracker Comes to America: How Three Ballet-Loving Brothers Created a Holiday Tradition by Chris Barton
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I had just watched the ballet last year. It was cool to read the story behind the story- at least once it got to the US. I didn’t know about the San Francisco and Portland connections! Another cool thing was how the brothers kept going back to the idea and getting back together despite circumstances.
View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #97

  1. Linda Baie

    November 18, 2015 at 12:58 pm

    Just got The Bridge Will Not Be Gray from the library although I haven’t read it yet. I’m glad you liked it, Earl. Thanks for all the rest, too. I need to find The Nutcracker.

     
  2. Annette Pimentel

    November 18, 2015 at 5:49 pm

    This is the first I’ve heard of This Bridge Will Not Be Gray. Our library has ordered it, so now I’m waiting…

     
  3. carriegelson

    November 20, 2015 at 8:11 am

    I am thinking of getting some of these Seedling Titles for my classroom library. They look great!

     

Leave a Reply

 
