RSS

What Are You Reading? (173) #IMWAYR – November 22, 2015

22 Nov

This week, I posted:

-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday- Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating all the writers, illustrators, book creators, and other literary minded folks who’ve come to the bookstore and given me great advice, inspired me or just provided great conversations!

Read my reviews for:

Related to my Commitment to Literacy, I shared #MyGivingStory to try and win a $5000 grant for The Children’s Book Bank. Please vote by liking it here: http://woobox.com/kxdcce/vote/for/11294621
cbb3

streganona
Strega Nona by Tomie dePaola
[***] A fun classic story that I can’t believe I’ve only read recently! An unattended aide who doesn’t know better ends up creating a mess in a small town.

must-read-2015-logo

quin

The Mysterious Mr. Quin by Agatha Christie

[**] I usually don’t review Agatha Christie books because she’s a genius. I am not a fan of her short stories. I did not like these main characters. This is probably my least favorite Agatha Christie book.

Also, these editions (the ones I ended up collecting) really could use some proofreading because they typos really took me out of the stories!
[Off the Shelf] [Agatha Christie] [Reading Challenges]

Strange GirlStrange Girl by Christopher Pike

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The problem with being a fan for someone for over two decades and having read all their books (over 60!) is that there’s so much expectation from their latest work. Add to that Christopher Pike is one of my favorite authors, that’s a lot of pressure for him. But I’m relieved to say his newest young adult novel did not disappoint.

A strange girl enters the life of our male protagonist. Soon, miraculous things start to happen and people’s lives begin to change. But not everyone is happy until the mystery surrounding the titular character is solved. At what cost will the truth be revealed- and will it be believed?

Pike fans may get deja vu from that description since it’s very similar to his first adult novel Sati, which I highly recommend. But Strange Girl is unique and is a refreshing change from the slate of YA books out now.

Fans of Jerry Spinelli’s Stargirl (which I detested) may enjoy this mystical love story.

View all my reviews
[Off the Shelf] [Christopher Pike] [Reading Challenges]

More Happy Than NotMore Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I ended up staying up until 3am reading this book. It was unputdownable!

Ricki from Unleashing Readers recommended it to me. I’ve been so “tired” lately of most MG and YA novels because they’re too downright depressing or after school special-ish. And I don’t really like reading teenage angst.

But a few pages in, once I got the feel of the book with the use of young street type talk and the abundance of nicknames, I got sucked in and started caring for the characters.

Any questions you may get about the the main character’s motivations will be answered. There’s plenty of twists that will keep you turning the pages.

They weren’t kidding when they said this was a mix of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz (one of my favorite books)and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (one of my favorite movies.)

Refreshing. Heartbreaking. Unforgettable.
View all my reviews
This is one of my most favorite favorites!

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

4 responses to “What Are You Reading? (173) #IMWAYR – November 22, 2015

  1. Cheriee Weichel

    November 22, 2015 at 10:16 pm

    I’m so glad you enjoyed More Happy Than Not. Wasn’t that some powerful read. I loved this book too! The plot twists and turns took me completely unaware. It is one book I might actually read again. I just brought some Christopher Pike into the library. I need to read at least one of them…. eventually. Happy Reading this week.

     
  2. Karen Yingling

    November 23, 2015 at 3:02 am

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who wasn’t as fond of Stargirl. It’s been used in our 8th grade language arts class for years (along with The Pigman! Argh!), but I think we are beginning to get away from both of those titles. Nothing like “edgy”… from 1967!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    November 23, 2015 at 6:23 am

    I have The Bridge Will Not Be Gray, but still need to read it. So many good books here, Earl. I’ll look for More Happy Than Not! Happy Thanksgiving! And best wishes for winning that grant!

     
  4. Myra GB

    November 24, 2015 at 3:25 am

    Oh my goodness, I hope my friendly distributor has More Happy than Not! I will definitely be on the lookout for this title as we are celebrating first loves and romances for January-February! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
