RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #98

25 Nov

nfpb2015

PBMBADGE-AMBASSADOR-FB-300x245

For Picture Book Month, I’ll be reading a Nonfiction Picture Book a day.

Busy VehiclesBusy Vehicles by Britta Teckentrup

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Young readers are invited to discover all kinds of vehicles. I like that it asks questions to invite conversation.
View all my reviews

Teedie: The Story of Young Teddy RooseveltTeedie: The Story of Young Teddy Roosevelt by Don Brown

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I like reading different books about the same subject.

This would be a good read-aloud and introducing kids to a fascinating person.
View all my reviews

DizzyDizzy by Jonah Winter

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Told in free verse reminiscent of Dizzy’s style of music, I would think this would be fun to read (after a little bit of practice) to kids with his music playing in the background.
View all my reviews

Dancing to Freedom: The True Story of Mao's Last DancerDancing to Freedom: The True Story of Mao’s Last Dancer by Li Cunxin

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

An interesting read about China’s most famous dancer. The time period and situations briefly tackled upon in this inspiring picture book piqued my interest and may end up reading his memoir, Mao’s Last Dancer.
View all my reviews

Spit & Sticks: A Chimney Full of SwiftsSpit & Sticks: A Chimney Full of Swifts by Marilyn Grohoske Evans

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Every September, there’s a school here in Portland where people come together and watch the swifts. It’s interesting to see a flock of them there in the air and swooping down into the chimney. One time they were in danger from a hawk so that was quite a show.

As for this book, it was interesting to learn more about these birds and it was quite clever to add the story of the human family.

It also got me curious about nonfiction picture books on who writes the back matter (like the time lines and such).
View all my reviews

I (Don't) Like SnakesI (Don’t) Like Snakes by Nicola Davies

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Fascinating read about snakes.

I can see why they’re so disliked but you can’t escape the fact they are fascinating creatures.

I’ve actually touched a snake at a zoo once and it’s something I never want to do again. I’m tingling just even writing this review!
View all my reviews

We the KidsWe the Kids by David Catrow

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

In fun and silly illustrations, David Catrow breaks down the Preamble to the Constitution to kid-friendly concepts.
View all my reviews

 

2 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #98

  1. Cheriee Weichel

    November 25, 2015 at 1:53 pm

    I’m not generally spooked by snakes at all. I had one draped around my shoulders once. Spiders are another story!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    November 25, 2015 at 6:36 pm

    I love reading about Teddy Roosevelt, so will look for this book, Earl. Thanks for all, and will also look for Spit & Sticks. Books about the way birds live are fascinating too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
