RSS

Celebrate This Week- November 27, 2015

27 Nov
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating gratitude by sharing my #Grateful4 posts this past month! (They’re going to start out with “Today I’m #Grateful4…” but it’s from the most recent one.)

grateful4

Today I’m #Grateful4 all the bloggers who’ve made me feel part of a great supportive community!

Today I’m #Grateful4 my grandparents. I’m very fortunate to have amazing caring ones. And if you’re lucky enough to still have them in your life, cherish them!

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ for all my uncles and aunts who’ve helped raise me. It really takes a village to raise a child and I’m lucky to have had these people in my life!

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ Robin! I’d like to raise a pitcher and toast “to friendship.” She’s very thoughtful and funny and surprising.

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ Nathan who just started out as a bookstore customer but we ended up becoming friends because we were both Christopher Pike fans! I appreciate his enthusiasm and his passion and for being quirkily himself with the things he does!

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ customers who somehow become more than customers and we end up connecting as readers.

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ Mariah Carey whose music always seem to cheer me up. Inspires me with her creativity. She is who she is even if people don’t completely get her and but everyone should be who they are if they brighten up the world for the people around them!

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ my Uncle (Tito) Rene Angelo Bustos and Aunt (Tita) Charina Bautista Bustos because they always make me feel welcome and cared for by giving me a place to stay and by cooking delicious food and making sure there’s plenty of coffee when I’m with them.

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ Allison. She is an inspiring person to know because she’s always doing something- and you wouldn’t think she has the time but she’s socializing, volunteering, training, etc. She adds kindness to a world that can surely benefit from it!

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ my mom Joy Bustos! I’m glad she’s been so supportive of me which means a lot to me! Can’t wait to see her again! Counting down the days!

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ the folks over at The Children’s Book Bank! I’ve met so many nice people over there over the years. And I’m so passionate about promoting literacy that it’s the perfect fit for me!

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ my other brothers Alex and Lolo. It’s exciting who they’ll turn out to be when right now they’re discovering and figuring things out in a series of trial and errors. There’s a picture of the two of them when they were kids that I hope to find since it probably planted the seeds of my picture book characters.

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ for writers. Books are everything to me. And I love finding the right one for myself and others. It may be the go-to thing to say for loners but books are my friends. They cheer me up considerably. The excite, entertain, inform, and inspire me. What’s a good book you’ve read recently?

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ anyone who perseveres in spite of cruel circumstances and difficult situations, who chooses to be a source of light and love in times of darkness and hate, and who does something about rebuilding a broken world into a better kinder and more united place.

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ Nikko Manalo! I love that my sister texts me for book recommendations. She’s grown from a little girl who would spill water on my books when I specifically told her to be careful to a young woman with her own family who I also adore!

Today, I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ the kindness and randomness of strangers. The lady from the previous post came back to the store last night and Cat and I are having dinner with her again next month. We have countless opportunities to be kind and let’s take them!

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ my nieces and nephews. They have brought and continue to bring so much pride and happiness to their parents and everyone else around them. I’m excited to see them grow up. They inspire me to be better and kinder.

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ my boss Jennifer. I can’t give her enough credit for creating a wonderful place not only for kids to discover great books but also for adults to feel young and curious again. I’m so glad to be part of Green Bean Books.

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ Christine Claiborne aka Crissy to the rest of you. We’ve had so many moments together- in libraries, bookstores, parking lots, restaurants, and Starbucks! My life is infinitely better because she’s in it!

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ Elizabeth Ente Dizon. I’m so impressed by her capacity to love everyone. She also taught me a different kind of strength with the things she’s gone through and going through. Very inspiring!

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ Carly! Always great to talk books and libraries with her. I could print out a 21-page document about how much I value our friendship!

Today I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ Walt Disney. He’s definitely one of my Creative Heroes who’s made me believe in make-believe. I just read a book about him that reminded me how hard work and a dream can lead to a beautiful life. How fortunate we are to have enjoyed (and continue to do so to this day) his stories, his films, and his magic!

Today, I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ for Jay Jay Bustos Dizon, who has always been a constant rock when things get crazy in our family. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how the world needs more good male role models and I think he’s one. He can always make me laugh without saying a word. Love you. Happy Birthday!

I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ Marilyn aka the Halloween Book Lady. Halloween has become one of my favorite holidays because I get to help this lady give out books to the kids in her neighborhood. It’s such a treat for me and yet she still goes out of her way to make us even more appreciated.

Today’s ‪#‎Grateful4‬ post is for Isabel. I had dinner with one of my other sisters last night. She’ll still be the little girl who loved watching The Lion King. I do think she’s maturing so that’s great. A sweet person. I love her!

I’m ‪#‎Grateful4‬ Pauline Bustos Dizon Eduardo! I wish more of you could have known her. Such a sweet lovely (and loving) person.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is this fun festive video:

What are you celebrating this week?

 

4 responses to “Celebrate This Week- November 27, 2015

  1. jarhartz

    November 28, 2015 at 12:27 pm

    Love your list of people. What a wonderful exercise. And really enjoyed Mariah and Jimmy’s rendition of All I want for Christmas. Thanks!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    November 28, 2015 at 3:00 pm

    Wonderful that you’ve gathered all these people during November, Earl. While you are grateful for them, I’m glad that you have such great people surrounding you.

     
  3. Haddon Musings

    November 29, 2015 at 5:31 am

    Great post and I thought about you this week and all love Mariah as I was watching her on TV this week.

     
  4. Ramona

    November 29, 2015 at 5:52 am

    Earl, what an exercise in gratitude. A Halloween Book Lady – maybe I want to be her next year! It truly is amazing to think of all the wonderful people in our lives.

     

Leave a Reply

 
