RSS

What Are You Reading? (174) #IMWAYR – November 29, 2015

29 Nov

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating gratitude by sharing my #Grateful4 posts this past month!

ABC_Cover
[**] I wasn’t particularly fond of this book but I admit it’s a cute concept with all the words in each sentence group having the ABC format with images hidden in the pages of those letters. Includes a partial answer key and the dustjacket folds out into a poster.

nino
[**] Stunning illustrations about a lonely boy and a dog he doesn’t have and the troubles they get into. This is a book that invites multiple read-throughs to interpret all the situations.

only child
[***] Reminiscent of Shaun Tan’s The Arrival, this is a wordless graphic novel. The story is that of a child who goes off on her own to visit her grandmother but gets lost. A mysterious stranger ends up taking her into a magical place and they form a special bond. What’s as fascinating is the author’s story behind the story which adds another level to it.

oskar
[****]
Amazing beautiful celebration of human kindness.

eiffel
[**] I wanted to like this book since I love a good love story. While I was impressed with the illustrations, the text fell short.

whisper
[***] Beautiful story of the power of words with fanciful art. The spreads may be good as writing prompts for students.

must-read-2015-logo
The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency #16)The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine by Alexander McCall Smith

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Another nice installment in this series that’s always refreshing to go back to. I know there are cozy mysteries but I would consider these “light mysteries” in the sense there’s really no mysteries in most of the books.

I liked that Mma Ramotswe was front and center in this one again. I would love to read an installment set during a traditional Botswana holiday.
View all my reviews

The Murder at the Vicarage (Miss Marple, #1)The Murder at the Vicarage by Agatha Christie
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is the first novel featuring her other famous detective, Miss Marple. The story’s enjoyable narrative, interesting characters, style, and solution is classic Christie and I will definitely check out more Miss Marple.

(Review from 2008)
View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “What Are You Reading? (174) #IMWAYR – November 29, 2015

  1. Cheriee Weichel

    November 29, 2015 at 9:43 pm

    Ok – so I’ve now added Oskar to my shopping cart. I really like the cover of The Only Child too. I have to get around to doing some accounting soon so I know if I have any money left to purchase books!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    November 30, 2015 at 6:20 am

    I’m so glad you liked Oskar. I thought it was a beautifully told story. I love The Whisper too, and still am waiting to get The Only Child from the library. Have a great week, Earl!

     
  3. Alex Baugh (@RandomlyReading)

    November 30, 2015 at 6:21 am

    Nice list. I can’t wait to get my copy of The Only Child and I’ve been wanting to read The Whisper for ages now. Thanks for sharing your books with us.

     
  4. Kathy Martin

    November 30, 2015 at 12:54 pm

    Great assortment of picture books. This is what I read last week. Happy reading!

     
  5. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    November 30, 2015 at 6:32 pm

    I love knowing you and following your blog because you always share books I haven’t seen other places yet. I also haven’t been great about following NFPB Wednesdays recently, so thank you for always sharing your Wednesday post on Monday!

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  6. Jane Whittingham

    December 1, 2015 at 8:38 am

    Oh, The Whisper is such a beautiful book! I hadn’t heard of The Only Child, I really need to get a copy of it, I am so inspired by wordless picture books. Thanks for sharing!

     
  7. The Styling Librarian

    December 1, 2015 at 10:36 am

    Grateful for the reminder about The Only Child, had my eye on that in June but was being patient til the release date… Happy reading to you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
