RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #99

02 Dec

nfpb2015

PBMBADGE-AMBASSADOR-FB-300x245

For Picture Book Month, I’ll be reading a Nonfiction Picture Book a day.

Big Red KangarooBig Red Kangaroo by Claire Saxby

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Delightful engaging nonfiction picture book about big red kangaroos and one in particular. It shows how the (male) leader of the pack takes care and protects them. The illustrations are to be gushed over.
View all my reviews

We Gather Together: Celebrating the Harvest SeasonWe Gather Together: Celebrating the Harvest Season by Wendy Pfeffer

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Jam-packed with information, this is a great addition to any library. Learn about seasons (fall in particular), history of harvests, and traditions from around the world. Includes activities in the end.
View all my reviews

Raindrops RollRaindrops Roll by April Pulley Sayre

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Rain takes center stage in this beautiful and poetic and photo-illustrated book. The end matter talks more about it and the water cycle and its form.
View all my reviews

How to Swallow a Pig: Step-by-Step Advice from the Animal KingdomHow to Swallow a Pig: Step-by-Step Advice from the Animal Kingdom by Steve Jenkins

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Probably one of my favorite nonfiction picture books of 2015!

Providing “advice” on how to do things like animals do, readers will laugh their way through the book and learn fascinating animal skills and behaviors. Additional information about the animals featured can be found in the end.
View all my reviews

A Chicken Followed Me Home!: Questions and Answers about a Familiar FowlA Chicken Followed Me Home!: Questions and Answers about a Familiar Fowl by Robin Page

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I didn’t realize collaborators Steve Jenkins and Robin Page were husband and wife until recently. I don’t think I’ve read a book of theirs (together or separately) that I didn’t like and this was no exception.

Fun fowl facts!
View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #99

  1. hollymueller

    December 2, 2015 at 9:53 am

    You’ve got a couple on this list I’ve read – Raindrops Roll and A Chicken Followed Me Home – both I enjoyed very much. The others I haven’t heard of or haven’t gotten to yet, but they look good!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    December 2, 2015 at 11:26 am

    Steve Jenkins and Robin Page live in Boulder, near me. But I still haven’t met them, keep wishing they would share their books at our local bookstores! Their books are terrific. I just ordered Raindrops Roll from the library, excited to read it. Will look for We Gather Together, too, and I adore The Big Red Kangaroo and her other books. You’re right, the art is fabulous. Thanks, Earl.

     
  3. Tammy and Clare

    December 2, 2015 at 6:44 pm

    We love A Chicken Followed Me Home and Raindrops Roll. We can’t wait to read the Big Red Kangaroo. Thanks for the recommendations!

     

Leave a Reply

 
