RSS

Celebrate This Week- December 4, 2015

04 Dec
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating a miscellany of things.

Picture Book Idea Month Completion

Thank you to Tara Lazar for Picture Book Idea Month! The PiBoIdMo experience has been great- daunting and rewarding. The community has been nothing but enthusiastic. I loved reading their tips, motivations, struggles and successes! Here’s to us for completing it and may we get some solid stories from our ideas!

piboidmowinner

Giving Tuesday

December 1st was the worldwide celebration of Giving Tuesday. Through Oregonians Give, our state chapter of it, there was a launch party with local celebrities (Portland’s Mayor, sports mascots, roller derby girls, and our very own UniPiper.) It was at the ungodly hour of 7am but that didn’t stop dedicated and generous folks from coming down. I enjoyed seeing kids participating since the younger they learn they can make a difference- a positive impact- in the world, the better!

Later in the day, I donated some books and volunteered at The Children’s Book Bank.

cbbcbb1

 Festive Bookstore Moments

The holidays provide me many moments that make me glad I’m a bookseller. I love my job. It’s hard work finding the perfect book for people. I had wonderful customers who came back and remembered me from helping them before. We talked books and it was a festive time all around. They also left with stacks of great books that I know they will love!

And, we had a very special story time at the bookstore. And we even had the Grinch over!

grinch.jpg

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is “Home” from NBC’s The Wiz. This live production seemed to have gotten lots of praise. I think it’s cool that people get to experience a theater and musical production even if through TV.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

5 responses to “Celebrate This Week- December 4, 2015

  1. Michele

    December 5, 2015 at 7:26 am

    I would like to try PiBoIdMo sometime. It is daunting, but I think it would help me grow.
    Looks like a great week, Earl!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    December 5, 2015 at 8:54 am

    I loved PiBoIdMo too, Earl. So glad you had fun with it. Love that you do so much for your customers! I hate to think of what my book buying would be if I visited you at the bookstore! Love that picture with the Grinch-happy times.

     
  3. Haddon Musings

    December 5, 2015 at 1:08 pm

    The Grinch and you are a right. It is wonderful that you love your job so much.

     
  4. hollymueller

    December 6, 2015 at 7:32 am

    I love the photos! It IS hard work to put the right book in the right hands. I’m so glad you’re out there doing it!

     
  5. crbrunelle

    December 6, 2015 at 8:19 pm

    That picture of you with the Grinch is fabulous! Thanks for the video. I didn’t get to see it the other night, but The Wiz was one of my favorite movies when I was growing up.

     

Leave a Reply

 
