RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #100

09 Dec

nfpb2015

Coco and the Little Black DressCoco and the Little Black Dress by Annemarie van Haeringen
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Great illustrations but the text could have been better!

View all my reviews

Growing Up Pedro: How the Martinez Brothers Made It from the Dominican Republic All the Way to the Major LeaguesGrowing Up Pedro: How the Martinez Brothers Made It from the Dominican Republic All the Way to the Major Leagues by Matt Tavares
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Amazing! I don’t even like sports but this is more than a story of baseball, it’s a story about brothers and hard work and not forgetting where you came from. A sure home run!

View all my reviews

 

4 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #100

  1. Linda Baie

    December 9, 2015 at 12:45 pm

    I loved Growing up Pedro too. What a story! Didn’t know that there was a bio about Coco Chanel. Thanks, Earl!

     
  2. Jane Whittingham

    December 9, 2015 at 3:43 pm

    Oooh I think I’d like to pick up the Chanel biography. Funnily enough baseball is just not popular at all where I live, so Growing Up Pedro might be a tough sell, but I like what you said about it being more a story about never letting go of your dreams.

     
  3. Michele

    December 9, 2015 at 6:19 pm

    I think Pedro was the first Matt Tavares book I’ve read, but I was so impressed. Looking forward to his book about crossing Niagara this spring.

     
  4. Annette Pimentel

    December 10, 2015 at 9:47 am

    I totally agree that Growing Up Pedro is really a family story about brothers.
    I appreciate your honest assessments of the strengths and weaknesses of books like Coco.

     

Leave a Reply

 
