RSS

What Are You Reading? (176) #IMWAYR – December 13, 2015

13 Dec

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating short stories by Gene Luen Yang and Natalie Lloyd.

bruce

Mother Bruce by Ryan T. Higgins

[***] A male bear becomes an unlikely father figure to gosling when his breakfast eggs hatch!

waddle

Waddle! Waddle! by James Proimos

[***] A fun read-aloud picture book about an excited penguin who can’t wait to meet his new friend again. This will have the readers want to do the penguin dance!

must-read-2015-logo

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens AgendaSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I started listening to this first as an audio book but I couldn’t get into it. I then picked it up again as a physical book after all the buzz it’s been getting.

It was an enjoyable read with fortune cookie life insights here and there.

As I may have written in my other reviews before, I don’t really like teenage angst books and I’m particularly wary when it has LGBT characters. Sometimes their experiences (as with this novel) result in me feeling less connected rather than glad there’s a character representing my lifestyle.
View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “What Are You Reading? (176) #IMWAYR – December 13, 2015

  1. Kay McGriff (@kaymcgriff)

    December 14, 2015 at 11:35 am

    I’m ready for a book that inspires penguin dancing! I love it when books leap off the page like that. My daughter (now 17) still talks about “the bat poem” that we read and then I “flew” her around like a bat afterwards.

     
  2. Kathy Martin

    December 14, 2015 at 12:19 pm

    I got a copy of Simon & the Homo Sapiens Agenda when it was a cheap ebook recently. It went on my “maybe someday” stack. Here’s my week. Happy reading!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    December 14, 2015 at 12:58 pm

    Mother “Bruce” & Waddle Waddle look just fun, Earl, & I will note the book about Simon. . . Thanks, Earl.

     
  4. Ricki Ginsberg

    December 14, 2015 at 6:50 pm

    Simon got a bit more hype (from Kirkus) today. Your review makes good sense to me. I am interested to see where it goes. I hope you have a great week!

     
  5. carriegelson

    December 14, 2015 at 7:55 pm

    I really want to read Mother Bruce. I loved Wilfred by this author!

     
  6. Myra GB

    December 15, 2015 at 3:46 pm

    Just bought Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda as per my 14 year old girl’s request. Really looking forward to reading it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
