RSS

Celebrate This Week- December 18, 2015

18 Dec
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating James Patterson and bookselling.

Thanks to James Patterson for promoting literacy and instilling the love of reading and acknowledging people and institutions who do the same! I was very fortunate to be given a holiday bonus as a program he created to recognize nominated employees of independent bookstores.

I’m grateful for getting this bonus and for everyone who nominated me. It always feel nice to be acknowledged.

I love working during the holidays. My shifts have been feeling like an ongoing old-fashioned Christmas party and I get to help people find the perfect books to give others.

After long busy days at work, I get to reflect on how wonderful our customers are. They are so literate and they are so nice in including us in their festivities. And sometimes they come bearing gifts and it makes me blush to think they like us- and me- enough to do so when I’m just so lucky to be doing something I love!

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is Gretchen Rubin‘s SuperSoul Sunday episode.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

3 responses to “Celebrate This Week- December 18, 2015

  1. Linda Baie

    December 19, 2015 at 10:51 am

    It isn’t the same, but I am getting a taste of bookstore life at the used bookstore where I’m volunteering. You must be such a wonderful help to those coming in to shop, Earl. I love to talk books with customers, or at my local Indie store. And, what a nice things about James Patterson and the bonuses, for you too. Kindness matters!

     
  2. Haddon Musings

    December 19, 2015 at 10:52 am

    Always nice to feel appreciated and from following your blogs I know that you do very many things that should be acknowledged and appreciated.

     
  3. Crystal

    December 20, 2015 at 6:47 pm

    Congrats on the bonus! As a customer I appreciate booksellers who are knowledgeable and passionate about books. I am sure you are both.

     

Leave a Reply

 
