RSS

What Are You Reading? (177) #IMWAYR – December 20, 2015

20 Dec

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

trickysnowflakes

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating James Patterson and bookselling.

shape

The Shape of My Heart by Mark Sperring, Illustrated by Alys Paterson

[**] This actually turned out to be a reread, now available as a board book. Such a sweet message but not too sentimental.  I think it’ll be a nice book to have kids focus on the world around them.

Fail, Fail Again, Fail Better: Wise Advice for Leaning Into the UnknownFail, Fail Again, Fail Better: Wise Advice for Leaning Into the Unknown by Pema Chödrön
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Another commencement speech turned into a book. This one was a timely read since my one little word for 2015 was Fail. This takes a look into how to not to view failures as negative experiences.

The second part of the book is an interview with the author digging deeper into that subject.
View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

A Little LifeA Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara
My rating: 1 of 5 stars
I was so angry with this book, I didn’t even want to finish it 633 pages into its 720. It makes me wish I read Go Set a Watchman instead!

It’s like drawing a picture of a toilet with poop in it to show it’s dirty and then taking an actual dump on it for no good reason.

I hardly got through the last part with all my tears. At one point I realized I had mimicked the book’s cover in my agony. And of course you’re going to cry because it felt like emotional manipulation. I think the best kinds of fiction (whether as a book or a movie) is one that feels real or grounded in real life but somehow elevated or better (and I don’t mean that it has to have a happy ending.)

Another thing that annoyed me was the summary implying we’d follow four friends through the year. And while we do, again it seemed unnecessary to “focus” on the other two, especially when we get someone else’s point of view in a few chapters.

I really wanted to like this.
View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “What Are You Reading? (177) #IMWAYR – December 20, 2015

  1. Cheriee Weichel

    December 21, 2015 at 12:34 am

    Wow, A Little Life sounds like an intensely emotional read. Not a book to read in December for sure.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    December 21, 2015 at 6:31 am

    I haven’t heard of A Little Life, and now I guess I won’t be reading it, either. Sorry that it was upsetting, too, Earl. As Cheriee says, not a book for this month’s cheer! Hope you find a really good book next!

     
  3. Ricki Ginsberg

    December 21, 2015 at 8:15 am

    The Shape of my Heart looks lovely. I like the fact it is available in Board Book form. My son still likes board books, even though he can turn the paper pages. I will look for this one. Thank you! Happy holidays!

     
  4. Kay McGriff (@kaymcgriff)

    December 21, 2015 at 1:53 pm

    I will have to check out the Fail, Fail again. It sounds like it might be a message my daughter is ready to hear as she gets ready to graduate from high school. As a smart student, she hasn’t experienced much failure and fears it. She is such a perfectionist, too.

     
  5. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    December 21, 2015 at 5:30 pm

    I really like Tricky Vic. I’m definitely going to review it in the future.

    Happy reading and holidays this week!

     
  6. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    December 21, 2015 at 6:41 pm

    Love love LOVE Tricky Vic. One of my favorite picture books of 2015

     
  7. Crystal

    December 21, 2015 at 7:12 pm

    I really want to read Tricky Vic. I had been reading the National Book Award finalists, but wasn’t sure if I wanted to dive into A Little Life. The length alone was intimidating, but I had also read wildly conflicting reviews. I think I’ll skip it. Thanks for the warning.

     

Leave a Reply

 
