RSS

Celebrate This Week- December 25, 2015

25 Dec
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

First of all, Merry Christmas!

xmas

I call this my Mariah Carey Christmas Tree aka the FestiviTree!

xmas1.jpg

A couple of years ago, I made an Agatha Christie-mas Tree!

xmas2

My Christmas Tree o’ Books from a few years ago!

This week I’m celebrating completing my Reading Challenges, especially my To Be Read in 2015!

After only recently finishing my TBR list a few days ago, and expanding it from 52 to 73, it’s kind of a relief to be done with it.

Off the Shelf 2015-
Original Goal: 12 books; Met Goal: 17-
I really enjoyed reading and rereading Agatha Christie books. It seemed whenever I was in a reading slump, she would always get me excited about books again!

Beverly Cleary-
Original Goal: 4 books; Met Goal: 5

National Ambassadors for Young People’s Literature-
Original Goal: 5 books

Kate DiCamillo-
Original Goal: 6 books-
This was an addition later in the year.

Diverse Books-
Original Goal: 52 books
I like to think that I read a lot and I was surprised that I had to seek out books featuring people of color or people with disabilities, or anything that would be considered diverse. While I stopped keeping track of how many diverse books I read after meeting my goal, I definitely still read more.

Nonfiction Picture Book 2015-
Original Goal: 104 books; Met Goal: 127

I also had the following challenges which I didn’t include as part of my To Be Read list.
-Jeanette Winter- You can read reviews here, here and here.
Barbara Kerley & Edwin Fotheringham
Inaugural Poems

I also want to take a moment to express my condolences to the family and friends of Debbie Alvarez aka The Styling Librarian. I knew her as a fellow blogger first and we met a couple of times when she bought books at the store. It was always fun to talk books with her. And, whenever her name would somehow come up with teachers and other educators, they only had positive things to say and they were always impressed by her passion. Clearly she loved what she did.

I wish I had gotten to know her better. My heart goes out to her family and friends. You can read more about her in this beautiful tribute from the Oregonian.

My Audio/Video Pick o’ the Week is Mariah Carey’s Merriest Christmas special.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

6 responses to “Celebrate This Week- December 25, 2015

  1. Terje

    December 26, 2015 at 5:56 am

    Congratulations on completing your reading challenge! I love the pics of book trees. Merry reading!

     
  2. Leigh Anne

    December 26, 2015 at 7:18 am

    I love all of your Christmas “trees” – how fun! and your reading list is quite impressive. I am still behind in my challenges, but hey, I have still have 5 days left! Happy Reading!

     
  3. jarhartz

    December 26, 2015 at 9:06 am

    Those trees are awesome AND I love Mariah. Thanks for the celebration of all her Christmas tunes. Quite a joy.

     
  4. Linda Baie

    December 26, 2015 at 11:33 am

    I love all the book trees, Earl. Beautiful. Congratulations on your goal setting and accomplishments. I don’t think I’ll finish all my ToBeRead in 2015, but am trying to finish at least one more. It’s wonderful that you got to meet and talk with Debbie several times. She inspired me always by her grit and passion, and I know all of us in the blog-reading world will miss her very much. Thanks for your words about her.

     
  5. Crystal

    December 26, 2015 at 5:12 pm

    Congrats on meeting your reading goals. 🙂 Your Christmas trees are so fun!

     
  6. cvarsalona

    December 29, 2015 at 10:33 am

    Congratulations-beautiful book trees shown and who can deny the fact that books and Mariah are a great Christmas combination, Earl.

     

Leave a Reply

 
