RSS

#IMWAYR – December 27, 2015

27 Dec

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

audobongingerbread

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating my Reading Challenges, especially my To Be Read in 2015!

worm

Worm Loves Worm by J.J. Austrian, Illustrated by Mike Curato


[***] I was trying my best not to read any books published in 2016 but this was too cute to pass up. When two worms meet, fall in love and want to get married, complications arise when they’re friends wonder how their wedding will fit their ideas of conventionality. But, spoiler alert, it all comes down to love.

loveyou

I Love You Already! by Jory John, Illustrated by Benji Davies


[***] In this sequel to Goodnight Already!, Bear is preparing to spend a quiet day by himself but Duck has other ideas! Will these two friends find a compromise?

amazingpeace

Amazing Peace by Maya Angelou, Illustrated by Steve Johnson and Lou Fancher


[***] This beautiful picture book shares a poem celebrating the holidays with gorgeous paintings. Find the version with a CD that includes Maya Angelou reading her poem.

howto

How to Mend a Heart by Sara Gillingham


[***] Following How to Grow a Friend, this is another super cute picture book about heart break and putting it back together again using an arts-and-crafts approach.

10

10 by Marion Bataille


[***] I may have read this before because I loved Marion Bataille’s ABC 3D and Numero. This time we count up and down in this clever brilliant pop up book. One turns to 10. Two turns to 9 and so on.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

10 responses to “#IMWAYR – December 27, 2015

  1. Kathy Martin

    December 28, 2015 at 5:53 am

    You always show such interesting picture books. I really should explore more in that genre. Here is what I read last week. Happy reading!

     
  2. crbrunelle

    December 28, 2015 at 8:20 am

    I have a copy of Amazing Peace, but it is a small book published for adults. I will have to track down the picture book.

     
  3. Linda Baie

    December 28, 2015 at 8:21 am

    Amazing Peace looks wonderful, and I Love You Already, another bear book! I seem to like them all. Happy New Year, Earl.

     
  4. carriegelson

    December 28, 2015 at 10:30 am

    I Love You Already looks so cute. I think I might need to bring that title into my classroom collection!

     
  5. Michele

    December 28, 2015 at 12:05 pm

    I’m looking forward to I Love You Already and How to Mend a Heart. Waiting for the library to get copies of them.
    I briefly read Worm Loves Worm at NCTE. It’s one I want to read slowly and enjoy the positive message!

     
  6. alybee930

    December 28, 2015 at 5:54 pm

    I loved I LOVE YOU ALREADY more than the first one. Can’t wait for Worm loves Worm.

     
  7. Ricki Ginsberg

    December 28, 2015 at 7:45 pm

    I agree! I want to read I LOVE YOU ALREADY! I have it on my list! Thanks for sharing these books, Earl!

     
  8. Myra GB

    December 29, 2015 at 1:45 am

    I loved Amazing Peace – but used it as a read-aloud during Christmas and it did not work as well as I hoped it would. I had a group of young kids, which may explain why it fell flat – perhaps with a group of older readers, there would be a much more nuanced appreciation of the cadence of the language – but the illustrations are gorgeous, aren’t they? Hope you had a lovely Christmas, Earl and a wonderful New Year’s celebration too!

     
  9. Jane Whittingham

    December 29, 2015 at 3:21 pm

    I got to read Worm Loves Worm too, it’s such a silly sweet story of love triumphing over everything, even pushy, well-meaning friends. 🙂

     
  10. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    January 1, 2016 at 10:05 pm

    The Angelou picture book looks beautiful, and I love hearing her read her work–I’ll have to look for the CD version.

    Happy new year!

     

Leave a Reply

 
