RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #103

30 Dec

nfpb2015

I Am JazzI Am Jazz by Jessica Herthel
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This picture book was getting a lot of publicity earlier this year when people were up in arms over a school’s plan to read it. With more attention being brought to transgender people and issues, it’s great there’s a book that can start a conversation for young people.
View all my reviews

The Sound Of KwanzaaThe Sound Of Kwanzaa by Dimitrea Tokunbo
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A great introduction to what Kwanzaa is all about. Through lively text and colorful illustrations, readers learn the principles of this holiday. Includes a recipe for a festive treat to share with celebrants.
View all my reviews

tsunami

The Extraordinary Voyage of Kamome by Lori Dengler and Amya Miller, Illustrated by Amy Uyeki

The Extraordinary Voyage of Kamome is the true story of a boat that drifted from Japan to the California coast after the Japanese tsunami of 2013. It’s a feel-good tale of two cultures that formed an unusual relationship after a tragedy struck.

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #103

  1. Michele

    December 30, 2015 at 1:39 pm

    This is the first I’ve heard of I Am Jazz, it looks like it’s a pb that fills a good hole in literature – I hate that people are so judgmental 😦 Glad to hear it’s a good one.

     
  2. Jane Whittingham

    December 30, 2015 at 3:07 pm

    Ugh, some people are the worst. I’m glad we’re finally getting more diversity in our children’s books, including gender diversity.

     
  3. alybee930

    December 30, 2015 at 10:23 pm

    I love that so often you find books that were not on my radar. Thanks for the sharing. I have to find The Extraordinary Voyage of Kamome. See you in 2016!

     

Leave a Reply

 
