RSS

#IMWAYR – January 3, 2016

03 Jan

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

iamjazz0-545-01865-X

tsunami

The Extraordinary Voyage of Kamome by Lori Dengler and Amya Miller, Illustrated by Amy Uyeki

Reading Resolutions: December Update– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating looking at where I’ve been to see where I’m going!

-Looking Forward 2016- Includes details about:

kindness

12x12x12

sonyaschickens

Sonya’s Chickens by Phoebe Wahl

[***] I’d been meaning to read this picture book because I didn’t get a chance to when she read at the store a few months ago and I was seeing it at lots of year-end lists. This is a great story that gently tackles the circle of life. Young Sonya becomes the mother hen for some chicks and she learns a painful lesson when one of them disappears. I liked how death isn’t sugar coated and put into a larger perspective that’s not too overwhelming for young readers.

batman

Batman’s Dark Secret by Kelley Puckett, Illustrated by Jon J. Muth

[**] I picked this up because I like Muth’s illustrations. But I was wondering what the point of this was after I got through reading it. Never in my life had I wished to have Batman be a relatable character. Apparently this picture book is a republished early reader book.

Because Amelia SmiledBecause Amelia Smiled by David Ezra Stein
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I’d been meaning to read this picture book for awhile now since I’m a firm believer that little acts of kindness can have big repercussions. Here we read about how those actions ripple into lives around the world in surprising ways.
View all my reviews

My Pet HumanMy Pet Human by Yasmine Surovec
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I’m trying to read more books by Filipino authors and this graphic novel was recommended. It’s super cute and I can see the appeal. “The Look” and the boop-ing will appeal to anyone who has a heart. I’m looking forward to the sequel!
View all my reviews

GratitudeGratitude by Oliver Sacks
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
In this collection of essays, Oliver Sacks reflects on old age, his impending death, and his gratitude for a life well-lived and well loved.

I was familiar with him because of his bestseller but I had never actually read any of his works The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat and Other Clinical Tales. The title appealed to me because of my focus on kindness for 2016. I admired his ability to stay positive despite knowing his days were near an end.
View all my reviews

Everything I Need to Know I Learned From a Disney Little Golden Book (Disney)Everything I Need to Know I Learned From a Disney Little Golden Book by Diane Muldrow
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
The fourth book in this collection is refreshingly likable. If you look up my reviews of the last two titles, I wasn’t exactly a fan of them. I think this worked because it’s generic enough like the first one and I have a fondness for Disney.
View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “#IMWAYR – January 3, 2016

  1. Myra GB

    January 3, 2016 at 11:47 pm

    I didn’t know about My Pet Human – glad to see we have it available in our libraries here – did you know that Lynda Barry is half-Filipino? You should go check out more of her works as well. Really amazingly crafted.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    January 4, 2016 at 7:10 am

    I will look for My Pet Human. Evidently when I looked it up, the author has written other similar books. I loved Because Amelia Smiled, think it should be in every classroom to start “something”. Happy New Year, Earl, & happy reading!

     
  3. Elisabeth Ellington

    January 4, 2016 at 9:02 am

    My Pet Human looks wonderful. I’m intrigued by your kindness focus in 2016! Looking forward to seeing more about that. Sonya’s Chickens looks like a must-read, though it might give me PTSD flashbacks to when my own favorite chicken, Hedwig, was killed by a fisher cat!!

     
  4. Jane Whittingham

    January 4, 2016 at 1:27 pm

    I’ve read quite a lot from Oliver Sacks, I’ve always enjoyed his thoughtful writing style, and I was sad to hear of his passing.

     
  5. Crystal

    January 4, 2016 at 3:23 pm

    I want to read Sonya’s Chickens and My Pet Human. 🙂

     
  6. Michele

    January 4, 2016 at 4:38 pm

    I saw the same thing about the Batman book, which is why I hadn’t picked it up yet.
    Love the 12x12x12 challenge!

     
  7. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    January 4, 2016 at 7:11 pm

    I love the Amelia book–anything that spreads love and the love of spreading love is a favorite of mine (well, if it is well done). Sonya’s Chickens and My Pet Human look wonderful 🙂

    Happy reading this week!

     
  8. ejmam

    January 7, 2016 at 4:37 pm

    I’ve read other books by Oliver Sacks, and I’m adding Gratitude to my TBR list. Our family motto is Compassion, so I like to reinforce it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
