RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #105

13 Jan

nfpb2016

There’s a whole slew of picture books focusing on presidential hopeful Hillary Rodham Clinton that have just come out. It is incredible to read about all her accomplishments- and what else she has yet to accomplish.

Michelle Markel’s Hillary Rodham Clinton: Some Girls Are Born to Lead seems to be the most kid-friendly (with LeUyen Pham’s signature illustrations) with an invitation for girls to pave their own way despite obstacles. I appreciate all the details Pham includes and the explanations of who the people are who she drew.

Skewing to a slightly older audience- and maybe adults will pick this up more- is Jonah Winter’s Hillary. Of the three picture books, this one feels more like an agenda book even though it does the same of sharing her story and just what her future might hold and what that might mean.

A balance of the two picture books I already mentioned is Kathleen Krull’s Hillary Rodham Clinton: Dreams Taking Flight. Alongside the facts are inspiring quotations. What I appreciated about his one was the detailed notes at the end of the book, which I actually enjoyed more than the story text!

 

7 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #105

  1. Jane Whittingham

    January 13, 2016 at 10:54 am

    I find American politics so fascinating, I honestly can’t imagine a picture book ever being made about a contemporary Canadian politician, and even books about our historical politicians would never be this cute and engaging!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    January 13, 2016 at 1:49 pm

    Wow, interesting that there are three. Thanks for sharing, Earl.

     
  3. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    January 13, 2016 at 5:09 pm

    Hillary!! I didn’t know there were any picture books about her until this week, much less 3–thank you for sharing!

     
  4. Annette Bay Pimentel

    January 13, 2016 at 5:17 pm

    I had no idea there were three new titles about her. Thanks for pointing them out.
    I love good back matter, too. I’m surprised how often it makes the book for me.

     
  5. Crystal

    January 13, 2016 at 6:01 pm

    I’ve only read the Krull book. I also enjoyed the back matter. I have heard good things about Markel’s book, but didn’t know about the Winters book. Thanks for the comparison.

     
  6. Michele

    January 13, 2016 at 6:04 pm

    I really enjoyed Markel’s book. I’ve been on the look out for Winter’s, but the library hasn’t gotten a copy yet.

     
  7. Myra GB

    January 15, 2016 at 12:14 am

    I love all the biographies that Kathleen Krull writes – will definitely add this to my multicultural text-set.

     

Leave a Reply

 
