RSS

Celebrations #CelebrateLU- January 15, 2016

15 Jan
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating the impact of words. It may not be instantaneous or intentional but it hopefully goes out to the world until it reaches the right people. It could be words from a comic a few years ago that was used in a summer reading program recently. Or it could be from a recent blog post that helps a conversation get started. [And you can read Bernadette’s (of Haddon Musings) thoughts on Nice Vs. Kind.]

I also got a nice review the other day on my work’s Facebook page: “For a great book recommendation, ask Earl! He reads like crazy and is spot-on with titles for kids AND adults.” I’m so grateful for people who make me feel like I know a thing or two about books!

gbbsnow

This is a photo I took of the store during our mini snow storm earlier this month!

I met up with a fellow writer for coffee to talk books. She gave me great advice about writing. I really appreciate how friendly and supportive and willing to share their knowledge the authors, illustrators and other people in the publishing world I’ve met have been to me.

OK, I’m celebrating other things as well. For instance, a friend took me to watch the Book of Mormon and it was a laugh riot as I expected!

And, I kicked off my volunteering this year during Martin Luther King Jr.’s Weekend of Service.

mlk

I volunteered for the Fort Vancouver Regional Library Foundation’s 2016 Bookapalooza Three-Day Used Book Sale. What’s cool about it is that it’s my first out of state volunteering (since I live in Portland, Oregon and this was in Vancouver, Washington.) I think I’d like to try and volunteer every time I travel somewhere.

Come to think of it, as for my out of state volunteering, I remember volunteering twice in California when I was a high school freshman living in the Bay Area. Once was video recording some sort of art show in a mall and the other was me directing traffic- I even got to wear one of those orange vests!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

6 responses to “Celebrations #CelebrateLU- January 15, 2016

  1. Haddon Musings

    January 16, 2016 at 5:00 am

    Thanks Earl for the shout out. To follow up on your celebration of words I m reading Consolations, the solace, nourishment and underlying meaning of everyday words by David Whyte. If you haven’t read it, take a look at it.

     
  2. Ramona

    January 16, 2016 at 1:03 pm

    Love the pic of your store in the mini snowstorm. We’re hoping for a bit of snow in WA this year – none last year! Volunteering at book fairs is the best! We have 3 or 4 book sales every year at our local library. I come away with a long list of books I want to read as I talk to other volunteers.

     
  3. jarhartz

    January 16, 2016 at 1:12 pm

    What a great idea to volunteer in different states! And, your nice vs. kind post stayed with me this week. That’s worth celebrating.

     
  4. Linda Baie

    January 16, 2016 at 1:37 pm

    What fun to see a picture of your bookstore, Earl. Maybe someday I’ll get to Portland! Congrats on receiving that compliment; I bet many count on you to recommend. And best wishes in your stretching out the volunteering. Nice to hear about.

     
  5. cvarsalona

    January 16, 2016 at 4:17 pm

    Earl, how wonderful that you received such a gracious and well-deserved comment. I enjoy hearing all about your literary journey.

     
  6. Crystal

    January 16, 2016 at 8:02 pm

    I love the picture of the store. It looks so cozy. The volunteer work is neat and that sounds like a great idea to get out and about to do it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
